Province comparison
Naturopathic Doctor Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $363 | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Ontario | $3,450 | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Nova Scotia | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Jurisprudence Examination, CANRA-QE, Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) | — | $363 (Trained in Canada) | — | $71,500 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | NPLEX Part I - Biomedical Science Examination, NPLEX Part II - Core Clinical Sciences Examination, CANRA-QE Written Examinations, CANRA-QE Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) | — | Not listed | 0.9 to 1.4 months (partial) | $64,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NPLEX Part I (Biomedical Science Examination), NPLEX Part II (Core Clinical Science Examination), Acupuncture Elective Examination, Naturopathic Manipulation Exam (practical), Acupuncture Exam (practical), Physical Diagnostic Skills Exam (practical), SANP Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam, Ontario Clinic Sciences Examination, CoNO Biomedical Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Ontario Clinical Sciences Examination, Ontario Clinical (Practical) Examinations, Jurisprudence Course/Examination, PLAR Written Exam #1 (BME), PLAR Written Exam #2 (CSE), PLAR Demonstration-based Assessment | — | $3,450 (Trained outside Canada) | 1 month (partial) | $62,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NPLEX Parts I and II Entry-to-Practice examinations, NSCNR Jurisprudence/Ethics exam, Canadian Prescribing and Therapeutics Examination | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | 2.1 months (partial) | — | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (18)
- Extra steps (6)
- Not stated (18)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $32,867 | $56,800 | $123,000 |
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $71,500 | $124,000 |
| Alberta | $32,867 | $64,000 | $139,000 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ontario | $37,561 | $62,000 | $122,000 |
| Quebec | $33,109 | $46,800 | $123,000 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Outlook not determined |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.