Province comparison
Notary Public Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licence required | Society of Notaries Public of BC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
What the British Columbia guide lists
The British Columbia guide lists no one-time fees and does not state a time for every step.
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Statutory Admission Exams, statutory examinations | — | Not listed | — | $39.58 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $21.63 | $33.05 | $52.19 |
| British Columbia | $26.43 | $39.58 | $50.67 |
| Alberta | $25.96 | $33.65 | $55.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $20.00 | $30.00 | $85.00 |
| Manitoba | $21.25 | $32.72 | $67.20 |
| Ontario | $20.71 | $33.00 | $54.95 |
| Quebec | $20.56 | $28.57 | $45.11 |
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $30.26 | $46.15 |
| Nova Scotia | $17.00 | $28.21 | $42.01 |
| Prince Edward Island | $20.65 | $26.00 | $32.97 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $18.00 | $26.01 | $37.84 |
| Yukon | $30.28 | $36.61 | $54.69 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.