Province comparison
Parts Technician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 7 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| New Brunswick | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Yukon | $10 | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 1.8 to 2.3 months (partial) | $30.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Entrance exam, Red Seal exam, Challenge exam | — | Not listed | — | $30.29 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination | — | Not listed | — | $27.98 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Red Seal exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | 1.4 months (partial) | $26.37 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $27.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, Red Seal exam | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $23.20 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | $24.52 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | $24.52 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $25.18 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam, written and practical exams, Red Seal exam | — | $10 (Trained in Canada) | — | $30.13 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | — | entrance examination, Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | $40.17 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nunavut | — | Written Level Examinations | — | Not listed | — | — | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (48)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (96)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $19.17 | $26.00 | $40.00 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $30.00 | $39.46 |
| Alberta | $20.00 | $30.29 | $45.13 |
| Saskatchewan | $20.00 | $27.98 | $45.48 |
| Manitoba | $17.79 | $26.37 | $32.31 |
| Ontario | $19.00 | $27.00 | $41.00 |
| Quebec | $20.00 | $24.00 | $36.00 |
| New Brunswick | $18.00 | $23.20 | $47.61 |
| Nova Scotia | $17.00 | $24.52 | $33.65 |
| Prince Edward Island | $19.61 | $24.52 | $47.61 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $22.00 | $25.18 | $65.00 |
| Yukon | $20.06 | $30.13 | $38.50 |
| Northwest Territories | $27.54 | $40.17 | $49.77 |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Yukon | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Good (4 of 5) |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.