Licence status by province and territory

Where personal support workers need certification
Ontario: Voluntary certificationNew Brunswick: Voluntary certification

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Voluntary certification
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta: Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario: Voluntary certification
  • Quebec: Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Personal support worker: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Not confirmed yet — —
Alberta Not confirmed yet — —
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Not confirmed yet — —
Ontario Voluntary certification Health and Supportive Care Providers Oversight Authority Read the guide for Ontario
Quebec Not confirmed yet — —
New Brunswick Voluntary certification New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Read the guide for New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Not confirmed yet — —

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for personal support workers by province and territoryListed fees in Ontario: not listed. Listed fees in New Brunswick: $350, for people trained outside Canada.$0$100$200$300$400Listed fees in Ontario: not listedOntarioNot listedListed fees in New Brunswick: $350, for people trained outside CanadaNew Brunswick$350
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of the route for people trained outside Canada, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for personal support workers by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesNo-fee steps
OntarioNot listed2
New Brunswick$3503

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: Ontario and New Brunswick.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
Ontario Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Competency Assessment — Not listed — — —
New Brunswick Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Certification Exam — $350 (Trained outside Canada) — — —

Moving between provinces

Personal support worker: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Direct transfer (1)
  • Not stated (1)
All answers as a table
Personal support worker: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toOntarioNew Brunswick
OntarioSame placeDirect transfer, Ontario to New Brunswick
New BrunswickNot stated, New Brunswick to OntarioSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.