Province comparison
Railway Car Technician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Voluntary certification | SkilledTradesBC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Voluntary certification | Apprenticeship Manitoba | Read the guide for Manitoba |
| Ontario | Voluntary certification | Skilled Trades Ontario | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Manitoba, and Ontario.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Certificate of Qualification exam, Practical assessment | — | $120 (Trained in Canada) | 24 months (partial) | — | — |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification (final) exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | — | — |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certifying exam | — | Not listed | 96,000 months (partial) | — | — |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (2)
- Not stated (4)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | British Columbia | Manitoba | Ontario |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, British Columbia to Manitoba | Not stated, British Columbia to Ontario |
| Manitoba | Direct transfer, Manitoba to British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, Manitoba to Ontario |
| Ontario | Direct transfer, Ontario to British Columbia | Not stated, Ontario to Manitoba | Same place |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.