Licence status by province and territory

Where real estate brokers need a licence
Alberta: Licence requiredManitoba: Licence required

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Licence required
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta: Licence required
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Licence required
  • Ontario: Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec: Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Real estate broker: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Not confirmed yet — —
Alberta Licence required Real Estate Council of Alberta Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Licence required The Manitoba Securities Commission (Manitoba Financial Services Agency, Real Estate Division) Read the guide for Manitoba
Ontario Not confirmed yet — —
Quebec Not confirmed yet — —
New Brunswick Not confirmed yet — —
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Not confirmed yet — —

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for real estate brokers by province and territoryListed fees in Alberta: $1,035, for people trained in Canada. Listed fees in Manitoba: $400, for people trained in Canada.$0$500$1,000$1,500Listed fees in Alberta: $1,035, for people trained in CanadaAlberta$1,035Listed fees in Manitoba: $400, for people trained in CanadaManitoba$400
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of the route for people trained in Canada, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for real estate brokers by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesNo-fee steps
Alberta$1,0353
Manitoba$4001

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: Alberta and Manitoba.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
Alberta Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province pre-licensing exam — $1,035 (Trained in Canada) — — —
Manitoba Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province the Commission's exam for PSA's — $400 (Trained in Canada) — — —

Moving between provinces

Real estate broker: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Extra steps (1)
  • Not stated (1)
All answers as a table
Real estate broker: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toAlbertaManitoba
AlbertaSame placeExtra steps, Alberta to Manitoba
ManitobaNot stated, Manitoba to AlbertaSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.