Province comparison
Secondary School Teacher Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Certification required
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Certification required | Teacher Regulation Branch | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
What the British Columbia guide lists
The British Columbia guide lists no one-time fees and does not state a time for every step.
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Language Competency Assessment for the Teaching Profession (LCATP), Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF), Diplôme d'études en langue française (DELF), l’Évaluation des compétences linguistiques pour la profession enseignante (ECLPE) | IELTS Academic 6.5 overall | Not listed | — | $44.33 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $28.85 | $45.67 | $59.76 |
| British Columbia | $28.85 | $44.33 | $60.18 |
| Alberta | $32.97 | $47.12 | $60.44 |
| Saskatchewan | $30.00 | $44.71 | $56.07 |
| Manitoba | $31.15 | $45.67 | $57.69 |
| Ontario | $29.33 | $48.08 | $61.54 |
| Quebec | $27.47 | $44.23 | $56.49 |
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $41.03 | $49.27 |
| Nova Scotia | $19.79 | $41.35 | $49.45 |
| Prince Edward Island | $26.67 | $44.44 | $52.10 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $39.26 | $51.81 | $77.50 |
| Yukon | $31.00 | $54.95 | $76.92 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | $32.00 | $59.77 | $71.12 |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Good (4 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Very good (5 of 5) |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.