Province comparison
Tower Crane Operator Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Certification required
- Ontario: Certification required
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Certification required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 6 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| New Brunswick | $350 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada | Level 1 Standardized Level Exam, Level 2 Standardized Level Exam, Red Seal exam, Practical Assessment, certification exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $43.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam | — | Not listed | — | $45.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination | — | Not listed | — | $44.31 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification (final) exam, Red Seal exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | 1.4 months (partial) | — | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $40.48 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | $43.01 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam | — | $350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $35.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial exams, Practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $41.20 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certification exam, certification examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $39.63 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (27)
- Extra steps (18)
- Not stated (45)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $26.50 | $42.77 | $52.19 |
| British Columbia | $27.00 | $43.00 | $55.00 |
| Alberta | $29.70 | $45.00 | $51.68 |
| Saskatchewan | $27.00 | $44.31 | $53.76 |
| Manitoba | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ontario | $24.50 | $40.48 | $53.94 |
| Quebec | $30.11 | $43.01 | $47.00 |
| New Brunswick | $23.81 | $35.00 | $50.60 |
| Nova Scotia | $25.00 | $41.20 | $50.00 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $26.00 | $39.63 | $52.00 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.