How to Become an Agrologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Ontario Institute of Agrologists to work as an agrologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Agrology/Agriculture/Agri-food Ontario Institute of Agrologists”
From ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Licensed in another province: 1 step, listed one-time fees $50
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Annual fees
-
- Annual membership fee (P.Ag. and T.Ag.): $450 (paid before the beginning of the year)
Source
“Annual membership fees for P.Ags and T.Ags are $450 paid before the beginning of the year.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Articling Agrologist fee: $225 (A.Ag. fees are half of the full membership fee)
- Algonquin College Graduate A.Ag.(T) fee: $120 (annually)
- University of Guelph Graduate A.Ag.(P)/A.Ag.(T) fee: $120
- Student Agrologist fee: $50
- Dual Registrant Professional Agrologist P.Ag. fee: $450
- Dual Registrant Technical Agrologist T.Ag. fee: $450
- Annual membership fee (P.Ag. and T.Ag.): $450 (paid before the beginning of the year)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,070
-
The applicant submits original transcripts, a copy of the degree, a WES report if educated outside North America, and a current resume or CV.
Source
“1. Original transcripts and a copy of the degree from a Recognized University, the contents of which meet the National Educational Standard for a 120 credit, four-year Baccalaureate degree in Agriculture”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics -
The OIA Registration Committee reviews the application and, once approved, the applicant becomes an Articling Agrologist.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Applications are reviewed by the OIA Registration Committee that meets monthly and there is a $150 application fee.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ
Source
“Applications are reviewed by the OIA Registration Committee that meets monthly and there is a $150 application fee.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Application fee: $150
-
As an Articling Agrologist the candidate attends an annual meeting, gives a presentation at a branch meeting, completes the Professionalism & Ethics course, and may be paired with a mentor to develop a Professional Development plan.
Source
“Articling Agrologists (A.Ag.s) are required to:<ul><li>Attend an annual meeting;</li><li>Give a presentation at a branch meeting;</li><li>Complete the Professionalism & Ethics course; and</li><li>May be paired with a mentor to develop a Professional Development plan.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ -
After fulfilling the obligations of the Articling process the applicant becomes a full registrant.
Source
“Once approved, the applicant must fulfill the obligations of an Articling process as precribed by the OIA before becoming a full registrant.”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,070 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Annual membership fee (P.Ag. and T.Ag.): $450 (paid before the beginning of the year)
Source
“Annual membership fees for P.Ags and T.Ags are $450 paid before the beginning of the year.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Articling Agrologist fee: $225 (A.Ag. fees are half of the full membership fee)
- Algonquin College Graduate A.Ag.(T) fee: $120 (annually)
- University of Guelph Graduate A.Ag.(P)/A.Ag.(T) fee: $120
- Student Agrologist fee: $50
- Dual Registrant Professional Agrologist P.Ag. fee: $450
- Dual Registrant Technical Agrologist T.Ag. fee: $450
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- Listed one-time fees: $50
- Annual fees: $1,070
-
An applicant holding a Professional or Technical Agrologist designation from another province applies to the OIA to transfer that designation.
- New Applicant & Transfer-In: $50
Source
“Transfer from another province If you are looking to transfer your Professional or Technical Agrologist designation from another province to the OIA, apply here.”
oia.on.ca/general/memberjoin.aspx
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $50
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $50 | 100% |
| One-time total | $50 | 100% |
Annual fees: $1,070 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Annual membership fee (P.Ag. and T.Ag.): $450 (paid before the beginning of the year)
Source
“Annual membership fees for P.Ags and T.Ags are $450 paid before the beginning of the year.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Articling Agrologist fee: $225 (A.Ag. fees are half of the full membership fee)
- Algonquin College Graduate A.Ag.(T) fee: $120 (annually)
- University of Guelph Graduate A.Ag.(P)/A.Ag.(T) fee: $120
- Student Agrologist fee: $50
- Dual Registrant Professional Agrologist P.Ag. fee: $450
- Dual Registrant Technical Agrologist T.Ag. fee: $450
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,070
-
An applicant educated outside of North America obtains a WES report on their education from World Education Services.
Source
“d. WES report on education from outside of North America. Reports are available for free at World Education Services: International Credential Evaluation for Canada (wes.org)”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics -
The applicant submits the WES report along with original transcripts, a copy of the degree, and a current resume or CV.
Source
“An applicant to the status of Professional Agrologist (P.Ag.) or Technical Agrologist (T.Ag.) submits the following:”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics -
The OIA Registration Committee reviews the application and, once approved, the applicant becomes an Articling Agrologist.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Applications are reviewed by the OIA Registration Committee that meets monthly and there is a $150 application fee.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ
Source
“Applications are reviewed by the OIA Registration Committee that meets monthly and there is a $150 application fee.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Application fee: $150
-
As an Articling Agrologist the candidate attends an annual meeting, gives a presentation at a branch meeting, completes the Professionalism & Ethics course, and may be paired with a mentor to develop a Professional Development plan.
Source
“Articling Agrologists (A.Ag.s) are required to:<ul><li>Attend an annual meeting;</li><li>Give a presentation at a branch meeting;</li><li>Complete the Professionalism & Ethics course; and</li><li>May be paired with a mentor to develop a Professional Development plan.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ -
After fulfilling the obligations of the Articling process the applicant becomes a full registrant.
Source
“Once approved, the applicant must fulfill the obligations of an Articling process as precribed by the OIA before becoming a full registrant.”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,070 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Annual membership fee (P.Ag. and T.Ag.): $450 (paid before the beginning of the year)
Source
“Annual membership fees for P.Ags and T.Ags are $450 paid before the beginning of the year.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ - Articling Agrologist fee: $225 (A.Ag. fees are half of the full membership fee)
- Algonquin College Graduate A.Ag.(T) fee: $120 (annually)
- University of Guelph Graduate A.Ag.(P)/A.Ag.(T) fee: $120
- Student Agrologist fee: $50
- Dual Registrant Professional Agrologist P.Ag. fee: $450
- Dual Registrant Technical Agrologist T.Ag. fee: $450
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- AC Graduate A.Ag.(T): $120
Requirements
Education
Applicants for Professional Agrologist must have a minimum of a 4-year degree in agricultural or the environmental sciences, and applicants for Technical Agrologist must have a 2-year diploma in agriculture or the environmental sciences.
Source
“The Professional Agrologist (P.Ag.) designation requires a minimum of a 4-year degree in agricultural or the environmental sciences. The Technical Agrologist (T.Ag.) designation requires a 2-year diploma in agriculture or the environmental sciences.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQ
Experience
Applicants must have a minimum of 2 years of domestic employment, preferably with at least a year of Ontario-based employment.
Source
“A minimum of 2 years domestic employment, preferably with at least a year of Ontario-based employment”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics
Other
Applicants must have references that verify their credibility.
Source
“P.Ags and T.Ags must have experience and references that verify their credibility, and must adhere to the OIA’s Code of Ethics.”
oia.on.ca/page/FAQApplicants must submit a current copy of their resume or CV, which is also used to confirm fluency in either English or French.
Source
“3. Current copy of resume or CV. Resumes are evaluated upon application into the Institute, and again when the Articling Agrologist requirements are completed.”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthicsApplicants educated outside of North America must submit a WES report on their education.
Source
“d. WES report on education from outside of North America. Reports are available for free at World Education Services: International Credential Evaluation for Canada (wes.org)”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthicsRegistrants must report at least 35 hours of continuing education credits.
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages describe a transfer or dual registration option for agrologists registered in another province but do not state whether an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment is waived. Source
“Transfer from another province If you are looking to transfer your Professional or Technical Agrologist designation from another province to the OIA, apply here.”
oia.on.ca/general/memberjoin.aspx
Apply as transfer or dual registrant
Source
“Transfer from another province If you are looking to transfer your Professional or Technical Agrologist designation from another province to the OIA, apply here.”
oia.on.ca/general/memberjoin.aspx
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Institute of Agrologists
Credential assessment
WES report
education
Source
“d. WES report on education from outside of North America. Reports are available for free at World Education Services: International Credential Evaluation for Canada (wes.org)”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Institute of Agrologists
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Institute of Agrologists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario Institute of Agrologists
Supervised practice
Required
Applicants must complete an Articling Agrologist period before becoming a full registrant. Source
“Once approved, the applicant must fulfill the obligations of an Articling process as precribed by the OIA before becoming a full registrant.”
oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $22.23 | $36.32 | $64.10 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.72 | $40.00 | $55.29 | — |
Agrologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade ontario.ca/page/work-your-profession-or-trade
- Code of Ethics oia.on.ca/page/CodeofEthics · fetched October 10, 2026
- Frequently Asked Questions oia.on.ca/page/FAQ · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ontario Institute of Agrologists oia.on.ca/general/memberjoin.aspx · fetched October 10, 2026
- Algonquin College Graduate Articling Agrologist Program - Ontario Institute of Agrologists oia.on.ca/page/ACAAG · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an agrologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the Ontario Institute of Agrologists is required to practise in Ontario.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.