At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 197.4 months (only 2 of 3 steps state a time)
  1. The apprentice completes 5,280 hours of practical on-the-job work experience as part of the apprenticeship program.

    Time: 5,280 days
    Time source
    “Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Baker is 6,000 hours (approximately three years) consisting of 5,280 hours of on-the-job work experience and 720 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker
    Source
    “Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Baker is 6,000 hours (approximately three years) consisting of 5,280 hours of on-the-job work experience and 720 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker
  2. Time: 720 days
    Time source
    “Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Baker is 6,000 hours (approximately three years) consisting of 5,280 hours of on-the-job work experience and 720 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker
    Source
    “A Baker apprenticeship includes two levels of theoretical training, which includes but is not limited to instruction in:”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker
  3. Upon completing the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.

    Source
    “Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship. This is the highest level of certification available for the trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. The apprentice finds a sponsor in Ontario.

    Source
    “1. Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. The apprentice applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario and checks off the section of the form indicating they completed training in another province.

    Source
    “2. Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario. - On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the apprentice to verify their out-of-province training after the application is submitted.

    Source
    “4. Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“As there is no certifying exam in this trade, Skilled Trades Ontario does not issue a Certificate of Qualification and therefore cannot accept Trade Equivalency Assessment applications for this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker

Requirements

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages describe apprentice mobility for registered apprentices moving to Ontario, but do not state how a person already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers as a baker.

Source
“If you’re a registered apprentice in another province or territory, you may get credit for your training in Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $17.60 $17.60 $22.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $15.00 $17.50 $24.81 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Bakers in other provinces and territories

Compare baker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Trades information - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/about-trades/trades-information/page/2 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Baker - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/baker · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a baker in Ontario?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.