At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. You apply for an apprenticeship program through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.

    Source
    “Apply for an apprenticeship program”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal
  2. As a registered apprentice you alternate between on-the-job training and in-school training.

    Source
    “As a registered apprentice you’ll switch between on-the-job and in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. When you finish the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues you a Certificate of Apprenticeship.

    Source
    “Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/blacksmith

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. You find a sponsor in Ontario.

    Source
    “1. Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. You apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario and indicate on the form that you completed training in another province.

    Source
    “2. Apply for an apprenticeship program in Ontario. - On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario contacts you to verify your out-of-province training after you submit your application.

    Source
    “4. Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how a blacksmith already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Ontario, and this trade has no Certificate of Qualification.

Source
“Because there is no certifying exam in this trade, Skilled Trades Ontario does not issue a Certificate of Qualification and therefore cannot accept Trade Equivalency Assessment applications for this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/blacksmith

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $21.00 $30.00 $42.79 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $21.63 $34.72 $47.85 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Blacksmiths in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare blacksmith licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Blacksmith - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/blacksmith · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Skilled Trades Ontario Portal - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a blacksmith in Ontario?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.