At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $200
  • 8 steps without a listed fee
  1. Review the general registration information web page and complete the online general certificate application form.

    Source
    “Review the General Registration Information web page and complete the online general certificate application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  2. After completing the application, review the Applicant Checklist to upload required documents and check the application status.

    Source
    “After completing the application, review the Applicant Checklist to upload required documents and review application status.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  3. Have the certification of three month clinical experience or internship form forwarded to the College directly from the certifying institution or practitioner.

    Source
    “Certification of Three Month Clinical Experience/Internship Form. *Must be forwarded to the College directly from the certifying institution or practitioner.*”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  4. Arrange for official transcripts of the approved chiropody or podiatry program and any other academic programs to be sent directly from the educational institutions to the College.

    Source
    “Official transcript of successful completion of an approved chiropody/podiatry program. *Transcripts must come directly from the educational institution to the College. A transcript must confirm that a degree/diploma has been granted.*”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  5. Applicants who practised in another jurisdiction must have official evidence of registration with a licensing body sent directly to the College from that body.

    Source
    “Official evidence of registration with a licensing body sent to the College directly from the registration/licensing body (*applies only to applicants who practiced in another jurisdiction*).”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  6. Upload your resume, graduation diploma, birth certificate, proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent residency or authorization to practise in Canada, and a signed confidentiality agreement to the Applicant Checklist.

    Source
    “Upload your complete resume / curriculum vitae to the Applicant Checklist.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  7. Submit a Canadian police criminal record check that is no more than six months old at the time of application.

    Source
    “Submit a Canadian police criminal record check. A police record check is a name-based search of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC) system. The College only requires a Level 1 check (criminal record check) but will accept any other check provided as long as it is no more than six months old at the time of application.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  8. The Registrar reviews the application once all required documentation has been received and determines whether it needs to be referred to the Registration Committee.

    Source
    “The Registrar will review your application once all required documentation has been received and determine whether it needs to be referred to the Registration Committee as per s.15 (2) of the *Regulated Health Professions Act*.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  9. Successfully complete the registration examination set or approved by the Council of the College.

    Source
    “Successful completion of the registration examination set or approved by the Council of the College”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $200

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $200 100%
One-time total $200 100%

8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming your good standing with your local regulatory body by email.

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming your good standing with your local regulatory body.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  2. Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.

    Source
    “Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $1,375
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Review the general registration information.

    Source
    “Review the General Registration Information”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  2. Complete the general certificate online application form and upload all required documents, including transcripts, resume, diploma, birth certificate, proof of citizenship or residency, confidentiality agreement, and a Canadian police criminal record check.

    Source
    “Complete the general certificate online application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  3. Complete and submit the Program Review Application form and prepare the required documentation.

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Program Review Application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  4. The Registrar reviews the completed application and submitted documents and notifies you of any pending documents or forms.

    Source
    “The Registrar will review your completed application and submitted required documents. The College will notify you of any pending documents or forms.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  5. Either submit your educational materials for review by an external expert for a fee, or take the local anesthesia and pharmacology courses at The Michener.

    Source
    “Submit your educational materials for review by an external expert to determine if they are equivalent to the Michener course on prescribing and administering drugs and other substances by injection into the foot. The review fee is $625.00”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from...
  6. Successfully complete the registration examination set or approved by the Council of the College.

    Source
    “Successful completion of the registration examination set or approved by the Council of the College”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $1,375

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $750 55%
Assessment $625 45%
One-time total $1,375 100%

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • application fee (approved post-secondary programs): $200 (approved post-secondary programs)
    Source
    “$200.00 non-refundable application fee (approved post-secondary programs)”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario
  • application fee (non-approved post-secondary programs): $500 (non-approved post-secondary programs)
    Source
    “$500.00 (non-approved post-secondary programs) – payable to the College of Chiropodists of Ontario, which must accompany the application form.”
    cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario
  • external expert review fee (inject or prescribe, not both): $625 (if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standards of practice to either inject a substance into the foot or to prescribe a drug, but not both)
    Source
    “The fee for this is $625.00 if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standards of practice to either inject a substance into the foot or to prescribe a drug, but not both.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  • external expert review fee (both inject and prescribe): $1,250 (if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standard of practice to both inject a substance into the foot and to prescribe a drug)
    Source
    “A fee of $1,250.00 if the assessment relates to whether he or she meets the standard of practice to both inject a substance into the foot and to prescribe a drug”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Requirements

Education

  • The applicant must have successfully completed a chiropody program approved by the Council of the College.

    Source
    “Successful completion of a chiropody program approved by the Council of the College”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Experience

  • The applicant must have been engaged in clinical practice for a total of at least three months during the two years immediately preceding the application, unless they completed an approved program within two years of applying.

    Source
    “The applicant must have been engaged in clinical practice for a total of at least three months during the two years immediately preceding the application.(This requirement is exemptible)”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Good character

  • The applicant must not have been found guilty of any criminal offence or any other offence relevant to suitability to practise chiropody.

    Source
    “The applicant must not have been found guilty of any criminal offence, an offence under the *Narcotic Control Act*, (Canada), or the *Food and Drugs Act* (Canada), or any other offence relevant to suitability to practise chiropody.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements
  • The applicant must not have been found guilty of professional misconduct, incompetence or incapacity in Ontario in relation to another health profession, or outside Ontario in relation to chiropody or another health profession.

    Source
    “The applicant must not have been found guilty of professional misconduct, incompetence or incapacity, in Ontario in relation to another health profession, or outside Ontario in relation to chiropody or another health profession.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Residency

  • The applicant must provide proof of Canadian citizenship, permanent residency in Canada, or authorization under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act to practise the profession in Canada.

    Source
    “Proof of Canadian citizenship or permanent residency in Canada or authorized under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (Canada) to practise the profession in Canada. (This requirement is exemptible)”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Other

  • The applicant must have reasonable fluency in written and spoken English or French.

    Source
    “Reasonable fluency in written and spoken English or French.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Chiropodists and podiatrists registered and in good standing in another Canadian province can practise in Ontario for up to six months while completing their registration, which requires an attestation form, the registration application with payment, and the Jurisprudence Exam.

Source
“This change supports labour mobility by allowing health professionals who are registered and in good standing with their home regulatory authority to begin practising in Ontario for up to six months while they complete their registration with COCOO.”
cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

  1. Submit attestation form

    Source
    “Complete and submit the Attestation Form confirming your good standing with your local regulatory body.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  2. Complete registration application

    Source
    “Complete your online registration application with the College of Chiropodists of Ontario.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...
  3. Pass jurisprudence exam

    Source
    “Write and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.”
    cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Exemptions: You can demonstrate language proficiency through education, registration status, language proficiency testing or experience.

Source
“You can demonstrate language proficiency through education, registration status (previous registration with the College or in another Canadian jurisdiction), language proficiency testing or experience.”
cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Chiropodists of Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $37,561 $62,000 $122,000 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $56,800 $123,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Chiropodists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare chiropodist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. General Registration Information - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/to-apply-for-registration-in-ontario · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Applicants from a Program Approved by the College - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. General Requirements for Registration - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. As of Right Legislation - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/application-pro... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Applicants from a Program that has Not Been Approved by the College - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/registration/apply-college-chiropodists/applicants-from... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Committees - College of Chiropodists of Ontarioicon-angleicon-barsicon-times cocoo.on.ca/council-and-committee-2/council-and-committee · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a chiropodist in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Chiropodists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title Chiropodist.

Which exams are required?

Registration Examination, Core Competencies Exam, Jurisprudence Exam, Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.