How to Become an Institutional Cook in Ontario
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Institutional cook is a voluntary trade in Ontario. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Because this trade is non-compulsory, this certificate does not have to be renewed, and the information of individuals practicing this trade will not appear on the Skilled Trades Ontario Public Register.”
From skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant finds a sponsor who will provide practical on-the-job training.
Source
“As a sponsor, you are responsible for ensuring that the apprentice receives training in accordance with the apprenticeship training program established by Skilled Trades Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/sponsor-an-apprentice -
The applicant applies for an apprenticeship program, which can be done through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.
-
The apprentice completes 3,600 hours of on-the-job work experience, with the sponsor signing off skills in the training standard.
Source
“Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Institutional Cook is 3,960 hours (approximately two years) consisting of 3,600 hours of on-the job work experience and 360 hours of in-school training.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook -
Source
“An Institutional Cook apprenticeship includes one level of theoretical training, which includes but is not limited to instruction in: nutrition”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook -
Upon completion of the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.
Source
“Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook -
The applicant writes and passes the certifying exam to obtain a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant reviews the Canadian Certificate Holder Guide and Form and follows the application instructions.
Source
“Review the Canadian Certificate Holder Guide and Form and follow the application instructions.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
The applicant submits the application using the PDF form by email or mail, since this application is not available through the portal.
Source
“the Canadian certificate holder application is currently not available through the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal. You must use the PDF application form and email or mail your application to Skilled Trades Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
Once the application is approved, the applicant is issued an Ontario Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“Once your application is approved and you are issued a Certificate of Qualification, you may then use the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal to update your information, pay fees or initiate other applications.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant reviews the Trade Qualifier Guide carefully to ensure they meet the skills and experience requirements.
Source
“Review the Trade Qualifier Guide carefully to ensure that you meet the skills and experience requirements.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
The applicant collects all supporting documentation before applying, since applying without documents will delay the assessment.
Source
“Collect all supporting documentation before applying. If you apply without attaching all supporting documents, it will cause a delay and you will be required to submit the documents before the assessment can begin.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
The applicant creates a My Ontario account to access the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.
Source
“Create a My Ontario account to access the Skilled Trades Ontario Portal.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
The applicant selects Individual, creates a new application, chooses Trade Equivalency Assessment and follows the steps to submit it.
Source
“Then, when prompted, select Individual, create a New application and select Trade Equivalency Assessment and follow the steps to submit your application.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal -
If the Trade Equivalency Assessment determines the applicant can challenge the certifying exam, they pass it.
Source
“The Trade Equivalency Assessment determines whether you can challenge the certifying exam for a trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r... -
If successful in the exam, the applicant pays a fee to be issued a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“If successful in the exam, you would pay a fee to be issued a Certificate of Qualification in that trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants with an authorizing certificate from another Canadian province or territory can apply to have their credential verified, and no further training or examination is required. Source
“If you have an authorizing certificate from another Canadian province or territory you can apply to have your credential verified and no further training or examination will be required.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/experienced-workers
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Exams
-
certifying exam
Source
“This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario
Exemptions: The pages do not state any language test exemptions. Source
“An Institutional Cook prepares meals in both small and large quantities using bulk-cooking methods in conventional, cook chill or cook freeze environments.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook
Canadian experience
The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement. Source
“An Institutional Cook prepares meals in both small and large quantities using bulk-cooking methods in conventional, cook chill or cook freeze environments.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state any supervised practice requirement. Source
“An Institutional Cook prepares meals in both small and large quantities using bulk-cooking methods in conventional, cook chill or cook freeze environments.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $17.60 | $18.00 | $24.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $18.00 | $25.00 | — |
Institutional cooks in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Institutional Cook - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/institutional-cook · fetched October 11, 2026
- Sponsor an apprentice - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/sponsor-an-apprentice · fetched October 10, 2026
- Skilled Trades Ontario Portal - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/skilled-trades-ontario-portal · fetched October 10, 2026
- Experienced workers - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/experienced-workers · fetched October 10, 2026
- Trade reports FAQ - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an institutional cook in Ontario?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.
Which exams are required?
certifying exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.