How to Become a Kinesiologist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Kinesiologists of Ontario to work as a kinesiologist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- kinesiologist
Show the source
“If you want to work as a kinesiologist in Ontario, you must be registered with COKO. The title “kinesiologist” can only be used by individuals registered with COKO.”
From coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Licensed in another province: 10 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $150
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.6 months (only 2 of 9 steps state a time)
-
Check the deadlines and logistics for the upcoming exam, which are posted at least four months before the exam date.
Source
“COKO posts deadlines and logistics about upcoming exams at least four months before the exam date.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
After graduating, ask your school to send your official final undergraduate transcript to the College by email or mail.
Source
“Once you have graduated, ask your school to email a copy of your official final transcript to [email protected]. Please note for the purpose of writing the exam, COKO only requires your undergraduate transcript.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
Complete the open-book Jurisprudence e-Learning Module on Ontario laws and standards before writing the exam.
Time: 4 daysTime source
“The module takes about four hours to complete – you can finish it at your own pace.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine...Source
“All applicants must be familiar with the laws, regulations and standards that apply to kinesiology in Ontario by completing the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
If applicable, submit documents such as a letter of standing from any regulator where you were registered and evidence of a legal name change.
Source
“If applicable, submit the following documents to COKO:”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
Create an account, complete the online application form, upload supporting documentation and pay the application fee online.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Deadline for the College to receive your:(1) online application form(2) $150 application fee(3) completion of the jurisprudence e-Learning module”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam
Source
“Please note the application fee must be paid online. You will be asked to upload any supporting documentation.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... - Application fee: $150
-
The College reviews your complete application, which takes about 15 business days, and if you meet the requirements emails you an exam registration form.
Time: 15 daysTime source
“It takes approximately 15 business days for COKO to finish the review.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine...Source
“Steps 2-5 are necessary to complete the review of your application. It takes approximately 15 business days for COKO to finish the review.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
Once the College receives your exam forms and exam fee, you will be emailed information on how to register for the online exam.
Source
“Once COKO has received your exam forms and exam fee, you will receive notification by email with information about how to register for the online exam.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... -
After being approved, you must take your first attempt at the entry-to-practice exam within one year of approval.
Source
“Once COKO has approved you to write the exam, you must take your first attempt at the exam within one year of becoming approved.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application -
After passing the exam, complete your registration by paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.
Source
“After passing the exam, you must complete your registration with COKO. This involves paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 10 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 9 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.6 months (only 2 of 10 steps state a time)
-
Check the deadlines and logistics for the upcoming exam, which are posted at least four months before the exam date.
Source
“The College posts deadlines and logistics about upcoming exams at least four months before the exam date.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
After graduating, ask your school to send your official final undergraduate transcript to the College by email or mail.
Source
“Once you have graduated, ask your school to email a copy of your official final transcript to [email protected]. For the purpose of writing the exam, the College only requires your undergraduate transcript.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
Complete the Academic Assessment Form listing courses that match Ontario kinesiology course descriptions, with course outlines, so your degree can be assessed for educational equivalency.
Source
“All applicants who graduated from non-kinesiology degree programs or from a kinesiology degree program in another Canadian province outside Ontario must have their degree assessed to ensure that it is similar to an Ontario kinesiology degree.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
Complete the open-book Jurisprudence e-Learning Module on Ontario laws and standards before writing the exam.
Time: 4 daysTime source
“It takes about four hours to complete, but you can log in and out and finish it at your own pace.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-...Source
“All applicants must be familiar with the laws, regulations and standards that apply to kinesiology in Ontario by completing the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
If applicable, submit a letter of standing from any regulator where you were registered and evidence of a legal name change.
Source
“If applicable, submit the following documents to the College:”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
Create an account, complete the online application form, upload supporting documentation and pay the application fee online.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Deadline for the College to receive your:(1) online application form(2) $150 application fee(3) completion of the jurisprudence e-Learning module”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam
Source
“The application fee must be paid online. You will be asked to upload any supporting documentation.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... - Application fee: $150
-
The College reviews your complete application over about 15 business days; if you meet the requirements you are emailed an exam registration form, and if not, your application may be referred to the Registration Committee.
Time: 15 daysTime source
“It takes approximately 15 business days for the College to finish the review.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-...Source
“Steps 2-6 are necessary to complete the review of your application. It takes approximately 15 business days for the College to finish the review.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
Once the College receives your exam forms and exam fee, you will be emailed information on how to register for the online exam.
Source
“Once the College has received your exam forms and exam fee, you will receive notification by email with information about how to register for the online exam.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... -
After being approved, you must take your first attempt at the entry-to-practice exam within one year of approval.
Source
“Once COKO has approved you to write the exam, you must take your first attempt at the exam within one year of becoming approved.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application -
After passing the exam, complete your registration by paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.
Source
“After passing the exam, you must complete your registration with COKO. This involves paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
9 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $150
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Submit the online application form with the application fee, jurisprudence module completion, official transcripts and translations, a degree assessment report, the academic assessment form with course outlines, and a language proficiency report by the deadline.
- Application fee: $150
Source
“Deadline for the College to receive your:(1) online application form(2) $150 application fee(3) completion of the jurisprudence e-Learning module”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam
Source
“Deadline for the College to receive your:(1) online application form(2) $150 application fee(3) completion of the jurisprudence e-Learning module(4) official transcript(s) and translations (5) degree assessment report (6) academic assessment form and supporting course outlines (7) language proficiency report”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam - Application fee: $150
-
If your education needs an equivalency review, a Registration Committee panel usually meets every four to six weeks, which may affect processing time.
Source
“If your education needs to be reviewed by the Registration Committee for equivalency, please note that a panel usually meets every four to six weeks. This may affect processing time.”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam -
Once approved, complete and submit the Exam Registration Form, pay the exam fee and register for the online exam on the Meazure Platform before the deadlines.
Source
“To register for the exam, you must: 1. Complete and submit the Exam Registration Form 2. Pay the exam fee 3. Register for the online exam on the Meazure Platform.”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam -
After being approved, you must take your first attempt at the entry-to-practice exam within one year of approval.
Source
“Once COKO has approved you to write the exam, you must take your first attempt at the exam within one year of becoming approved.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application -
After passing the exam, complete your registration by paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.
Source
“After passing the exam, you must complete your registration with COKO. This involves paying the registration fee and submitting required documentation.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $150
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $150 | 100% |
| One-time total | $150 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Exam rebooking fee: $160 (if you cannot write or finish your exam on exam day because of computer technical issues or a missed appointment)
Source
“If you cannot write or finish your exam on exam day because of computer technical issues or a missed appointment, you may rebook your exam for the next day for an additional fee of $160.00.”
coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam - Score verification fee: $50
Source
“There is a $50 fee for score verification of the exam.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine...
Requirements
Education
You must have a degree in kinesiology that is at least four years in length, or a similar degree such as physical education or human kinetics.
Source
“have a degree in kinesiology that is at least four years in length, or a degree that is similar (e.g. physical education, human kinetics).”
coko.ca/coko-resources/about-kinesiology
Police check
You must submit a criminal record check to the College.
Good character
Applicants may be referred to the Registration Committee if there are concerns with their character or conduct.
Source
“there are concerns with the applicants character or conduct.”
coko.ca/applicants/referral-to-the-registration-committee
Other
Applicants may be referred to the Registration Committee if the registrar has doubts about whether they meet language proficiency requirements.
Source
“the applicant does not meet language proficiency”
coko.ca/applicants/referral-to-the-registration-committee
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants with a kinesiology degree from another Canadian province must have their degree assessed through the Academic Assessment Form to ensure it is similar to an Ontario kinesiology degree. Source
“All applicants who graduated from non-kinesiology degree programs or from a kinesiology degree program in another Canadian province outside Ontario must have their degree assessed to ensure that it is similar to an Ontario kinesiology degree.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Exams
-
College’s entry-to-practice exam
Source
“To become a registered kinesiologist, you must pass the College’s entry-to-practice exam.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application -
Jurisprudence e-Learning Module
Source
“All applicants must be familiar with the laws, regulations and standards that apply to kinesiology in Ontario by completing the Jurisprudence e-Learning Module.”
coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Kinesiologists of Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $22.00 | $30.10 | $38.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $32.00 | $49.73 | — |
Kinesiologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Start an Application – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ontario Graduates with Kinesiology Degrees – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-kine... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Exam Registration Deadlines and Logistics – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/applicants/write-the-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ontario Graduates with non-Kinesiology Degrees – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/applicants/start-an-application/ontario-graduates-with-non-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- About Kinesiology – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/coko-resources/about-kinesiology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Referral to the Registration Committee – College of Kinesiologists of Ontario coko.ca/applicants/referral-to-the-registration-committee · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a kinesiologist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Kinesiologists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title kinesiologist.
Which exams are required?
College’s entry-to-practice exam, Jurisprudence e-Learning Module.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.