How to Become a Landscape Architect in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects to work as a landscape architect in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- landscape architect
Show the source
“In Ontario, only Full Members of the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects (OALA) have the legal right to use the title “landscape architect.””
From oala.ca/full-membership, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $125
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual dues for Full Membership: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
Source
“Annual dues for Full Membership in 2026 are $665 + HST and are prorated based on your approval date.”
oala.ca/full-membership
- Annual dues for Full Membership: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
-
Create a user account, complete and submit the application through the Member Dashboard, identify an OALA Full Member advisor, be employed in the field, have transcripts or credential confirmation sent to the OALA, and pay the application fee.
Source
“Create a user account; complete and submit your application through the Member Dashboard.”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Source
“Interns complete a period of mentored experience reporting work, typically 24 to 72 months, as assigned by the Examining Board.”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Successfully complete the Landscape Architect Registration Examination, which is managed, prepared and scored by CLARB.
Source
“Successful completion of the L.A.R.E. is required to become a landscape architect in Ontario. The L.A.R.E. is managed, prepared and scored by the Council of Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB).”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Work with your Advisor to confirm the reading list, track progress through each experience report, and complete all required readings, with both the Intern and Advisor attesting to completion when applying for Full Membership.
Source
“All Interns complete the Independent Course of Study. Interns work with their Advisor to confirm their reading list, track progress through each experience report, and complete all required readings.”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Create a user account on the OALA website, complete and submit the application form through the Member Dashboard, and pay the application fee at the time of submission.
- Full Membership application fee: $125 (required at the time of submission)
Source
“Create a user account on the OALA website. Complete and submit the application form through your Member Dashboard.”
oala.ca/full-membership
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual dues for Full Membership: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
Source
“Annual dues for Full Membership in 2026 are $665 + HST and are prorated based on your approval date.”
oala.ca/full-membership
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $125
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
- Listed time: 6 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Create a user account on the OALA website.
Source
“1. Create a user account on the OALA website”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-... -
Complete the labour mobility application form, which includes an endorsement from an OALA Full Member or a full member in your home jurisdiction.
Source
“Completed application form that includes the endorsement from an OALA Full Member, or a full member in your home jurisdiction”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-... -
Submit the required application fee of $125 plus HST.
- Labour mobility application fee: $125
Source
“3. Submit the required application fee ($125 + HST)”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...
Source
“3. Submit the required application fee ($125 + HST)”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-... - Labour mobility application fee: $125
-
If approved, you receive written confirmation that you have been deemed certified and are authorized to legally use the title Landscape Architect in Ontario for a maximum of six months.
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“If approved, you will receive written confirmation that you have been deemed certified and be authorized to legally use the title Landscape Architect in Ontario for a maximum of six (6) months.”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...Source
“If approved, you will receive written confirmation that you have been deemed certified and be authorized to legally use the title Landscape Architect in Ontario for a maximum of six (6) months.”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-... -
Source
“Once deemed certified, you have six (6) months to complete the process to become a Full Member of the OALA. This requires submitting:”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $125
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $125 | 100% |
| One-time total | $125 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual dues for Full Membership: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
Source
“Annual dues for Full Membership in 2026 are $665 + HST and are prorated based on your approval date.”
oala.ca/full-membership
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
-
Have your academic credentials assessed through CICIC or World Education Services Canada, with a course-by-course degree evaluation submitted directly by the credentialing firm to OALA.
Source
“OALA requires a course-by-course degree evaluation to be completed through one of the following recognized organizations:”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants -
Once academic equivalency is confirmed, proceed with an Intern Membership application or, where eligible, the Senior Oral Examination.
Source
“Once academic equivalency is confirmed, the applicant may proceed with an Intern Membership application or, where eligible, the Senior Oral Examination.”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants -
As an Intern Member, complete the Professional Development Program, which includes mentored experience reporting, successful completion of the L.A.R.E., and the Independent Course of Study.
Source
“To become a Full Member of the Association and gain the right to use the title “landscape architect” in Ontario, applicants must first join as Intern Members and complete the Professional Development Program (PDP).”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Apply for Full Membership following the same pathway as applicants educated in Ontario.
Source
“Internationally trained applicants are welcome to apply for membership in the OALA and follow the same pathway to Full Membership as applicants educated in Ontario.”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with OALA
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual dues for Full Membership: $665 (prorated based on your approval date)
Source
“Annual dues for Full Membership in 2026 are $665 + HST and are prorated based on your approval date.”
oala.ca/full-membership
Requirements
Education
Applicants with a recognized Bachelor or Master of Landscape Architecture may apply for Intern Membership immediately after graduation.
Source
“If you have an accredited landscape architecture degree: Graduates with a recognized Bachelor or Master of Landscape Architecture may apply immediately after graduation.”
oala.ca/intern-membershipInternationally trained applicants who do not hold a LAAC or LAAC-accredited degree must have their academic credentials assessed to demonstrate a four-year or longer degree equivalent to a Canadian Bachelor of Landscape Architecture, or a three-year or longer degree equivalent to a Canadian Master of Landscape Architecture.
Source
“The credential assessments must demonstrate: - A four‑year or longer degree equivalent to a Canadian Bachelor of Landscape Architecture, or - A three‑year or longer degree equivalent to a Canadian Master of Landscape Architecture”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants
Experience
Applicants with related degrees or diplomas must have at least four years (48 months) of relevant professional landscape architecture experience after graduation before applying for Intern Membership.
Source
“If you have other related education: Applicants with related degrees or diplomas must also have at least four years (48 months) of relevant professional landscape architecture experience post graduation before applying.”
oala.ca/intern-membershipInterns must complete a period of mentored experience reporting work, typically 24 to 72 months, as assigned by the Examining Board.
Source
“Interns complete a period of mentored experience reporting work, typically 24 to 72 months, as assigned by the Examining Board.”
oala.ca/intern-membership
Good character
To be deemed certified in Ontario, you must attest that you are a member in good standing with your home jurisdiction.
Source
“- You are a member in good standing with your home jurisdiction”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...
Other
Applicants must be currently employed in the field of landscape architecture to apply for Intern Membership.
Applicants must identify an Advisor who is an OALA Full Member with at least four years of membership.
Source
“Identify an Advisor who is an OALA Full Member with at least four years of membership.”
oala.ca/intern-membershipTo be deemed certified in Ontario, you must attest that you are currently registered as a landscape architect in a regulated Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“- You are currently registered as a landscape architect in a regulated Canadian jurisdiction (currently, the only regulated provinces outside of Ontario are Alberta and British Columbia)”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...To be deemed certified in Ontario, you must attest that you meet the OALA Independent Course of Study knowledge requirements.
Source
“- You meet the OALA Independent Course of Study knowledge requirements”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...To be deemed certified in Ontario, you must attest that you will follow the OALA’s Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Practice.
Source
“- You will follow the OALA’s Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Practice”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Individuals registered as landscape architects in another regulated Canadian jurisdiction are eligible for membership in Ontario without additional reassessment or restrictions, provided they attest to the eligibility requirements. Source
“individuals who are registered as landscape architects in another regulated Canadian jurisdiction are eligible for membership in Ontario without additional reassessment or restrictions”
oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with OALA
Credential assessment
Course-by-course degree evaluation
education_equivalency
Source
“OALA requires a course-by-course degree evaluation to be completed through one of the following recognized organizations:”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants
Exams
-
Landscape Architect Registration Examination (L.A.R.E.)
Source
“Successful completion of the L.A.R.E. is required to become a landscape architect in Ontario.”
oala.ca/intern-membership -
Senior Oral Examination
Source
“Once academic equivalency is confirmed, the applicant may proceed with an Intern Membership application or, where eligible, the Senior Oral Examination.”
oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with OALA
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with OALA
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with OALA
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $29.82 | $45.76 | $74.25 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.53 | $40.87 | $82.05 | — |
Landscape architects in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Title protected
- Alberta Title protected
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Full Membership | OALA oala.ca/full-membership · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intern Membership | OALA oala.ca/intern-membership · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process for Individuals Deemed Certified Under Ontario’s Labour Mobility Act | OALA oala.ca/application-process-for-individuals-deemed-certified-under-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Trained Applicants | OALA oala.ca/internationally-trained-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a landscape architect in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the Ontario Association of Landscape Architects is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title landscape architect.
Which exams are required?
Landscape Architect Registration Examination (L.A.R.E.), Senior Oral Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.