At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $545
  1. The applicant makes a written request to the Registration Department to be considered for high-priority registration.

    Source
    “New graduates who wish to be considered for high-priority registration, must make their request in writing to the Registration Department at [email protected] and include the following:”
    ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
  2. The applicant downloads, prints and completes the appropriate College application form, including their signature, and emails it with the request.

    Source
    “College application form: The appropriate application form should be downloaded, printed and completed, including the applicant’s signature, and subsequently emailed along with the request.”
    ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
  3. As part of the application form, the applicant completes the credit card payment authorization section, including the cardholder's signature.

    Source
    “Credit card authorization: As part of the application form, the credit card payment authorization section must be completed, including signature by the cardholder.”
    ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
  4. The applicant includes the reason for the request in order to start a high-priority application for registration.

    Source
    “Reason for the request: The reason for the request must be included in order to initiate a high priority application for registration.”
    ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap...
  5. The applicant sends an official transcript electronically as part of the high-priority request.

    Source
    “All application-related documents must be sent electronically as part of the high priority request, including the following: College application form Credit card authorization, as part of the application form Official transcript (or In Good Standing Certificate for AIT applicants)”
    ocswssw.org/2020/04/06/important-update-regarding-priority-applicat...
  6. If the applicant has not yet obtained their diploma but has completed all academic and practicum requirements, the College sends a Confirmation of Completion of Requirements form to their college to be completed.

    Source
    “If you have not obtained a social work degree or social service work diploma, but have completed all of the academic and practicum requirements for your degree or diploma, the College will send the appropriate Confirmation of Completion of Requirements form to your university or college if we are able to begin processing your application as a high-priority registration.”
    ocswssw.org/2020/04/16/attention-applicants-important-information-r...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $545 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration: $330 (for new members in the general class)
    Source
    “Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration | $330 + $100 application fee”
    ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees
  • Application fee: $100 (for new members in the general class)
    Source
    “Registration fee for new members in the general class of certificate of registration | $330 + $100 application fee”
    ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees
  • New graduate registration fee: $230 (for new graduates)
    Source
    “New graduate registration fee\* | $230 + $100 application fee”
    ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees
  • Application fee (new graduates): $100 (for new graduates)
    Source
    “New graduate registration fee\* | $230 + $100 application fee”
    ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have a social service work diploma from an approved program to be eligible for registration.

    Source
    “Setting entry-to-practice requirements to ensure that only those with the educational qualifications and other requirements set out in the Registration Regulation are eligible for registration.”
    ocswssw.org/2020/04/06/important-update-regarding-priority-applicat...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages only describe an AIT stream for registered social workers from other provinces, which is a different profession, so mobility for social service workers is not stated.

Source
“registered social worker from a province or territory outside Ontario, excluding Nunavut (AIT)”
ocswssw.org/2020/04/06/important-update-regarding-priority-applicat...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $19.79 $26.50 $37.23 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $19.00 $26.00 $36.06 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Social service workers in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare social service worker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. OCSWSSW Registrants | Resources & Support for Members ocswssw.org/registrants · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Important Update Regarding Priority Applications for Registration - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2020/04/06/important-update-regarding-priority-applicat... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. What You Need to Know About High-Priority Applications - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2020/05/15/what-you-need-to-know-about-high-priority-ap... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Attention Applicants: Important Information Regarding High-Priority Applications for Registration - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2020/04/16/attention-applicants-important-information-r... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. 2019 College Fees - OCSWSSW ocswssw.org/2021/11/19/2019-college-fees · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a social service worker in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title social service worker or registered social service worker.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.