At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apprentices complete 7,280 hours of on-the-job work experience as part of the roughly 8,000 hours needed to become competent in the trade.

    Source
    “Generally, the time-frame to become competent in the trade of Tool and Die Maker is 8,000 hours (approximately four years) consisting of 7,280 hours of on-the job work experience and 720 hours of in-school training.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/tool-and-die-maker
  2. Apprentices complete three levels of theoretical training in school.

    Source
    “A Tool and Die Maker apprenticeship includes three levels of theoretical training, which includes but is not limited to instruction in:”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/tool-and-die-maker
  3. After completing the apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.

    Source
    “Upon completion of an apprenticeship program, Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Apprenticeship.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/tool-and-die-maker
  4. Apprentices pass the certifying exam, after which Skilled Trades Ontario issues a Certificate of Qualification.

    Source
    “This trade has a certifying exam. When the certifying exam is passed, Skilled Trades Ontario will issue a Certificate of Qualification in this trade.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/tool-and-die-maker

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. An out-of-province apprentice must find a sponsor in Ontario.

    Source
    “1. Find a sponsor in Ontario.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  2. The apprentice applies for an apprenticeship program in Ontario and checks off the section of the form indicating they completed training in another province.

    Source
    “On your application you will need to check off the section of the form that you have completed training in another province.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices
  3. Skilled Trades Ontario contacts the applicant to verify their out-of-province training after the application is submitted.

    Source
    “Skilled Trades Ontario will contact you to verify your out-of-province training after you have submitted your application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Experienced workers who have not completed an Ontario apprenticeship but have equivalent qualifications or experience in their trade can use the Trade Equivalency Assessment Process.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/tool-and-die-mak...

Requirements

Education

Other

  • Applicants who do not meet the Academic Entry Requirements may register through the Experienced Apprenticeship Pathway if they are at least 21 years old or have not received formal education for at least three years, and must submit a completed Experienced Apprenticeship Pathway Form with their registration application.

    Source
    “Individuals who do not meet the prescribed Academic Entry Requirements (AERs) may be able to register as an apprentice through the Experienced Apprenticeship Pathway (EAP). To be considered for EAP, the applicant must: 1. be at least at least 21 years old, or 2. have not received formal education for a period of at least three years. Applicants seeking to register through the EAP must submit a completed Experienced Apprenticeship Pathway Form as part of their registration application.”
    skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages describe how registered apprentices from another province or territory can get credit for their training in Ontario, but do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Ontario.

Source
“If you’re a registered apprentice in another province or territory, you may get credit for your training in Ontario.”
skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Skilled Trades Ontario

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $22.00 $34.00 $42.50 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $22.50 $34.00 $44.65 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Tools and die makers in other provinces and territories

Compare tool and die maker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tool and Die Maker - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/trade-information/tool-and-die-maker · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Current apprentices - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/apprenticeship/current-apprentices · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Tool and Die Maker (430A) skilledtradesontario.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/tool-and-die-mak... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Trade reports FAQ - Skilled Trades Ontario skilledtradesontario.ca/resource-hub/research/trade-reports/trade-r... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a tool and die maker in Ontario?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Ontario. Certification is managed by Skilled Trades Ontario.

Which exams are required?

certifying exam, in-school exemption test.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.