How to Become a Shovel Operator in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Shovel operator is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The conditions to satisfy for the issuance of an exemption from holding an occupation competency certificate are the following”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Individuals who show they have acquired hours equivalent to at least 35% of the apprenticeship duration in the trade may apply for an apprentice competency certificate.
Source
“Individuals who demonstrate that they have acquired, in work experience and in hours in vocational training courses, the number of hours equivalent to at least 35% of the duration of apprenticeship in a trade (except the trade of crane operator) may apply for an apprentice competency certificate (ACC).”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The apprentice completes the apprenticeship in the trade, which for shovel operator lasts 2,000 hours in one apprenticeship period.
Source
“| Shovel operator | 1 | 2,000 |”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
Apprentices eligible for the provincial qualification examination register with the CCQ, by phone with a credit card or by letter with a cheque or money order, and pay the $100 registration fee.
- Registration fee for the provincial qualification examination: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - Registration fee for the provincial qualification examination: $100
-
The apprentice takes the provincial qualification examination in the trade to obtain journeyperson status.
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Workers obtain the Red Seal endorsement for the trade through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program.
Source
“The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program has designated a list of trades and occupations for which workers may obtain Red Seal endorsement.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge -
The worker applies to the CCQ's Customer Services by mail or at a regional office with the required forms, an official document, proof of passing the health and safety course, and payment of the $100 fee.
- Application fee: $100
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - Application fee: $100
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 2 steps state a time)
-
The applicant sends the application for preliminary analysis form for recognition of work hours and training hours, with all required documentation, to the CCQ by email.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“The CCQ will send its decision to you by email about 20 working days after it receives the form, duly completed, and all the documents required.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...Source
“The form *Application for preliminary analysis – Recognition of work hours and training hours (international recruitment) for a trade (except crane operator)* and all the documentation required must be sent to [\[email protected\]](https://www.ccq.org/cdn-cgi/l/email-protection#4b392e282425252a2238382a25282e0b28283a6524392c).”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
After the preliminary analysis is accepted, the applicant may apply to obtain an apprentice competency certificate from the CCQ, but only after arriving in Québec.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ. IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Fee for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency: $10
Source
“Pay the $10 fee required for attestation of recognition of a health and safety equivalency (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... - Fee for exemption from holding a competency certificate: $100
Source
“Pay the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Requirements
Experience
Candidates for the qualification examination must demonstrate experience in hours worked and, if applicable, training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship in the trade.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...Apprentices are eligible for the provincial qualification examination when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Holders of a certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the intergovernmental agreements with Ontario, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland and Labrador can register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate by meeting conditions such as proof of qualification, the health and safety course, and payment of fees, without retaking an entry-to-practice exam. Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Register with the CCQ
Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
Provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
Shovel Operator Examination
Source
“# Shovel Operator Examination”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/fic...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Shovel operators in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
- Shovel Operator Examination ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/fic... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a shovel operator in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
Provincial qualification examination, Shovel Operator Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.