At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $500
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  1. The applicant registers as an apprentice in Saskatchewan, which requires meeting the entrance requirements.

    Source
    “It is recommended that students complete high school before registering as apprentices.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
  2. The apprentice attends technical training, paying tuition fees while attending training.

    Source
    “Apprentices spend only 15 per cent of their time in technical training, and they only pay tuition fees while attending training.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
  3. The apprentice writes the written exam and practical exam to achieve journeyperson certification.

    Source
    “written exam fee will increase from $100 to $125; practical exam fee will increase from $160 to $175”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $500

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $300 60%
Registration $200 40%
One-time total $500 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. The internationally trained worker applies for a trade qualifier assessment, which can be done from any province or country.

    Source
    “No, you can apply for an assessment from any province or country.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
  2. Once assessed as a trade qualifier and approved to work in the trade, the employer and apprentice register a Contract of Apprenticeship with the SATCC.

    Source
    “Once an internationally trained worker has been assessed as a trade qualifer and approved to work in the trade, the employer and apprentice will register a Contract of Apprenticeship with the SATCC.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
  3. The SATCC issues a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while working toward meeting certification requirements.

    Source
    “The SATCC will issue a Special Permit allowing the individual to work in the trade while they work toward meeting certification requirements, including attempting the journeyperson certification exam.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs
  4. The individual attempts the journeyperson certification exam once they are a resident of Saskatchewan with a Saskatchewan address.

    Source
    “Yes, to be eligible to challenge the journeyperson exam, a Saskatchewan address is required.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not required for entry.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Residency

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.

Source
“The only journeyperson credentials recognized in Saskatchewan are credentials that have been issued in Canada.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $25.45 $36.30 $42.67 Undetermined
Canada $25.78 $40.00 $48.78 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Bricklayers in other provinces and territories

Compare bricklayer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Trade Qualifier Application FAQs | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/experienced-workers/application-faqs · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a bricklayer in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

journeyperson certification exam, written exam, practical exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.