At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

The steps are not listed yet.

Check the current steps with Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, but modified or general math and science classes do not meet entry requirements.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan. However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
  • Completing Grade 12 is encouraged but is not required for apprenticeship entry.

    Source
    “While completing Grade 12 is encouraged, it is not a requirement for apprenticeship entry.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $15.35 $17.00 $23.08 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $15.00 $18.00 $25.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Cooks in other provinces and territories

Compare cook licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Fee Updates | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Cook | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated_trades/cook · fetched October 11, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a cook in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

Journeyperson certification exam, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination, Red Seal Written Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.