How to Become a Dental Technician in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan to work as a dental technician in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Dental Technicians and Technologists Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan”
From saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/live-in-saskatchew..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: no separate route
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
-
- RDT: $450
- In-Active status: $100 (annually for inactive status)
- Student: $50 (annually for students)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
- Annual fees: $450
No separate route for this group. Source
“There are three paths to becoming registered dental technicians in Saskatchewan currently but with the evolution of our industry these are subject to change.”
dtas.ca/registration
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $450
No separate route for this group. Source
“There are three paths to becoming registered dental technicians in Saskatchewan currently but with the evolution of our industry these are subject to change.”
dtas.ca/registration
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $450
No separate route for this group. Source
“There are three paths to becoming registered dental technicians in Saskatchewan currently but with the evolution of our industry these are subject to change.”
dtas.ca/registration
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Additional CE fee: $150 (if credits are not achieved, submitted and approved by the deadline of the 3 years)
Source
“If credits are not achieved, submitted and approved by the deadline of the 3 years they are subject to an additional $150 fee upon payment of registration.”
dtas.ca/registration
Requirements
Other
Applicants must pass the registration exam to become registered.
Source
“Many of the laboratories provide opportunities to be trained in-house and taught the skills needed to challenge the registration exam and become part of the membership.”
dtas.ca/registrationRegistered members must complete 24 continuing education credits every 3 years.
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“Please provide any information in regards to prior education, work experience or provincial registration.”
dtas.ca/registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan
Exams
-
registration exam
Source
“Many of the laboratories provide opportunities to be trained in-house and taught the skills needed to challenge the registration exam and become part of the membership.”
dtas.ca/registration -
practical
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $20.69 | $26.98 | $41.65 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $19.00 | $29.00 | $45.00 | — |
Dental technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Saskatchewan Regulatory Bodies | Regulated Occupations and Licensing Requirements | Government of Saskatchewan saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/live-in-saskatchew... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Requirements | DTAS Saskatchewan dtas.ca/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- DTAS Meeting Minutes – April 13, 2025 dtas.ca/meeting-minutes/april-13-2025 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dental technician in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Dental Technicians Association of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
registration exam, practical.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.