At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

The steps are not listed yet.

Check the current steps with Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not required for entry.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...
  • Modified or general math and science classes do not meet the entry requirements for apprenticeship.

    Source
    “However, “modified” or “general” math and science classes don’t meet entry requirements.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.

Source
“as part of its commitment to ensuring a quality apprenticeship system in the province, and to reducing inter-provincial barriers to labour mobility.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/amendments-to-apprenticeship-and-trade-certif...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $19.00 $30.00 $40.00 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $22.00 $32.12 $44.23 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Framers in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare framer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. AMENDMENTS TO APPRENTICESHIP AND TRADE CERTIFICATION REGULATIONS | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/amendments-to-apprenticeship-and-trade-certif... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a framer in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

written exam, practical exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.