At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. You find an employer in the trade who is willing to provide the necessary on-the-job training and supervision.

    Source
    “Find an employer willing to provide the necessary on-the-job training and supervision.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
  2. You submit an apprenticeship application with the employer through MyATC, along with a registration fee, and your employer must approve it.

    Source
    “You must submit an apprenticeship application, along with a registration fee, through MyATC and your employer must approve your application.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
  3. You work and learn on the job and attend and successfully complete your technical training.

    Source
    “Work and learn on the job, and attend and successfully complete your technical training.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs
  4. You write the journeyperson examination and pass with a minimum of 70%.

    Source
    “Write your journeyperson examination and pass with a minimum of 70%.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SATCC

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“There are two ways for you to become a journeyperson in the Province of Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“There are two ways for you to become a journeyperson in the Province of Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not a requirement for entry.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Experience

  • Former Canadian military personnel are deemed to have full trade time if they provide a QL5 certificate and an MPRR.

    Source
    “Ex-Canadian military personnel are deemed to have “full trade time” in the trade if they provide: A copy of their QL5 certificate, A copy of their MPRR (Member’s Personal Record Resume)”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan.

Source
“There are two ways for you to become a journeyperson in the Province of Saskatchewan.”
saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $26.00 $42.00 $57.83 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $24.00 $37.00 $52.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Industrial mechanics (millwright) in other provinces and territories

Compare industrial mechanic (millwright) licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Designated Trades | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/designated-trades-searchable · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. FAQs – Resources and Programs | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/faqs · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Former Canadian Military Personnel | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/former-canadian-military-personnel · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an industrial mechanic (millwright) in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

Journeyperson examination, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.