At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
  • Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $325 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $325
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. The applicant registers with the apprenticeship authority, paying a registration fee.

    Source
    “registration fee will increase from $175 to $200;”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates
  2. The apprentice completes the required on-the-job training hours for the trade.

    Source
    “Total Training Hours (On-The-Job plus Technical Training) Indicates the sum of on-the-job training hours plus technical training hours.”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-process.shtml
  3. Once the apprentice has met the required hours of experience for the trade, they can self-register for training in MyATC.

    Source
    “To self-register for training in MyATC, apprentices must meet the required hours of experience for their trade.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule
  4. The apprentice writes the written certification examination required for certification, paying the written exam fee.

    Source
    “Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-process.shtml

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $325

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $325 100%
One-time total $325 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan, though Grade 12 is not required for entry.

    Source
    “A completed Grade 12 transcript, Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC) or General Education Development (GED) guarantees entry into apprenticeship in Saskatchewan.”
    saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai...

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in Saskatchewan.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-process.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with SATCC

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Meat cutters (processor endorsement) in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare meat cutter (processor endorsement) licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Meat Cutter (Processor Endorsement) - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/meat-cut-process.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. APPRENTICESHIP FEE UPDATES | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/apprenticeship-fee-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. 2026-27 Apprenticeship Training Schedule | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/2026-27-apprenticeship-training-schedule · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Entrance Requirements for Apprenticeship Training | SATCC saskapprenticeship.ca/entrance-requirements-for-apprenticeship-trai... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a meat cutter (processor endorsement) in Saskatchewan?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Saskatchewan. Certification is managed by the Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission.

Which exams are required?

Written Certification Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.