How to Become an Auto Body Technician - Auto Body Prepper in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Auto body technician - auto body prepper is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You apply to register as an apprentice and pay a non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend most of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You spend the remaining part of your apprenticeship learning at in-school technical training each year.
Source
“20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade to become certified.
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: your previous experience and training; and the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You must demonstrate proof of eligible trade experience, including the minimum required hours working in the trade, to qualify to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml -
Once you have demonstrated eligible experience, you can challenge the written certification examination.
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship Training
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“meet the entrance requirements for your trade”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Experience
A trade qualifier must demonstrate the minimum required hours working in the trade and experience covering the trade’s practices to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“be at least 16 years old”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
Apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: your previous experience and training; the requirements of your trade; and recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: your previous experience and training; and the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Written level examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml -
Written certification examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Auto body technicians - auto body prepper in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare auto body technician - auto body prepper licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Auto Body Technician - Auto Body Prepper - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/non-red-seal/auto-body-prep.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an auto body technician - auto body prepper in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written level examinations, Written certification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.