How to Become an Automotive Service Technician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Automotive service technician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training | V | C | C | C | C/V | C | V | V | C | V | V | V | V”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.9 to 2.3 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Before applying, make sure you meet the basic eligibility conditions for registering as an apprentice in the trade.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and - work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Find an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Submit your application to register as an apprentice and pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
Spend most of your apprenticeship learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Attend full-time in-school technical training each year of your apprenticeship.
Time: 4 to 10 weeksTime source
“In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade to become certified.
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Residency
You must be a Yukon resident to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Changing employers or moving to, or away from, the Yukon”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
Apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $22.46 | $35.02 | $45.17 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $19.00 | $29.89 | $43.27 | — |
Automotive service technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Certification required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare automotive service technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Automotive Service Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-serv-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an automotive service technician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.