At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Annual fees: $100

No separate route for this group.

Source
“You must meet both of the following requirements: - you hold a valid dental therapist licence in another Canadian jurisdiction; and - you’re in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $100
  1. You provide a current government-issued photo ID and a verification of registration sent directly to Professional Licensing and Regulatory Affairs from the Canadian jurisdiction you're licensed in, in an electronic format.

    Source
    “- Your current government-issued photo ID (not a health care card) - Your verification of registration, sent directly to Professional Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (PLRA) from the Canadian jurisdiction you're licensed in.”
    yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...
  2. You submit your application online and pay the one-time registration fee by credit card before the application is reviewed.

    Source
    “When you submit your application online, you must pay your 1-time registration fee. - You must pay this fee before we'll review and approve your application. - The online system will prompt you to pay this by credit card. - This fee is non-refundable.”
    yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...
  3. If your application is approved, you receive an invoice by email for the annual licensing fee, which you can pay through the portal.

    Source
    “If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your $50 annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
    yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $100 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • Annual fees: $100

No separate route for this group.

Source
“You must meet both of the following requirements: - you hold a valid dental therapist licence in another Canadian jurisdiction; and - you’re in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...

Requirements

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

A dental therapist licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction who is in good standing can apply for a Yukon licence, and the page does not require any additional exam or competence assessment.

Source
“You must meet both of the following requirements: - you hold a valid dental therapist licence in another Canadian jurisdiction; and - you’re in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...

  1. Provide verification of registration

    Source
    “Your verification of registration, sent directly to Professional Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (PLRA) from the Canadian jurisdiction you're licensed in.”
    yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing)

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $32.00 $45.00 $60.00 —

Wages in every province and territory

Dental therapists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Licence required
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Licence required
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Licence required
  • Nunavut Licence required

Compare dental therapist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Apply for a dental hygienist or therapist licence | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-dental-hygi... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Renew a dental hygienist or therapist licence | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-dental-hygi... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a dental therapist in Yukon?

Yes. Registration with Government of Yukon (Professional Licensing) is required to practise in Yukon, and to use the title dental therapist.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.