How to Become a Heavy Duty Equipment Technician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Heavy duty equipment technician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 24 to 48 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You must be at least 16 years old, a Yukon resident, meet the entrance requirements for your trade, and work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and - work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You pay a non-refundable $10 application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.
- Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent of your time in in-school technical training.
Time: 2 to 4 yearsTime source
“let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“As a registered apprentice in the program, you’ll spend: - 80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson by writing the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
- 2 steps without a listed fee
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Requirements
Education
You must meet the entrance requirements for your trade, which for Heavy Duty Equipment Technician (Off Road) include Grade 11 math.
Source
“| Heavy Duty Equipment Technician (Off Road)\* | 3 | 1800 | 8 | Grade 11 |”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Residency
You must be a Yukon resident to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
You must be at least 16 years old to register as an apprentice.
Source
“- be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...You must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“- work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Heavy Duty Equipment Technician | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Not applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Applicable | Not applicable | Applicable | Not applicable | Applicable | Not applicable |”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Written level examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml -
Written certification examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $30.34 | $44.17 | $56.86 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.87 | $37.12 | $55.00 | — |
Heavy duty equipment technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Certification required
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare heavy duty equipment technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Heavy Duty Equipment Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/heavy-duty-equip-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about a career in the trades | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a heavy duty equipment technician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Written level examinations, Written certification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.