At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $10
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 24.9 to 50.3 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program and pay the application fee.

    Source
    “You'll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. You spend most of your apprenticeship learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while being paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You complete the in-school technical training periods required each year of your apprenticeship.

    Time: 4 to 10 weeks
    Time source
    “In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. You write the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam for your trade.

    Source
    “the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Time: 2 to 4 years
    Time source
    “let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $10

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $10 100%
One-time total $10 100%

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • To challenge the exam without completing an apprenticeship, you must have enough experience working in the trade.

    Source
    “You may be eligible to write or "challenge" the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in the Yukon.

Source
“being able to work anywhere in Canada”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $20.00 $27.00 $40.00 —

Wages in every province and territory

Oil heat system technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare oil heat system technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Oil Heat System Technician – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/oil-heat-sys-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an oil heat system technician in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam, Red Seal exam, Written Level Examinations.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.