How to Become an Outdoor Power Equipment Technician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Outdoor power equipment technician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Outdoor power equipment technician trade certification, for specified types of equipment, is available, but voluntary, in Manitoba, Alberta, British Columbia, the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.”
From noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program.
- Application fee: $10 (non-refundable)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must:”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Application fee: $10 (non-refundable)
-
You spend most of your apprenticeship learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You also spend part of each year in in-school technical training.
Source
“20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Experience
To challenge the exam without completing an apprenticeship, you must have enough experience working in the trade.
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Residency
To register as an apprentice you must be a Yukon resident.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“- work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“being able to work anywhere in Canada.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on:”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Review the [Red Seal Exam Preparation Guide] for more information about the Red Seal exam, how to prepare and practise questions.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $15.30 | $24.00 | $32.00 | — |
Outdoor power equipment technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare outdoor power equipment technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile noc.esdc.gc.ca/Structure/NocProfile
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an outdoor power equipment technician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.