At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
  • Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. You apply to register as an apprentice in the Government of Yukon's apprenticeship program and pay a non-refundable application fee.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid;”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. You spend 20 per cent of your time in in-school technical training, which ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.

    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. Source
    “the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • To challenge the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship, you must have enough experience working in the trade.

    Source
    “You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
  • A trade qualifier must have a minimum of 10,800 hours working in the trade and demonstrate experience that covers the trade's practices to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.

    Source
    “Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination; candidates must also demonstrate experience that covers the trade’s practices | 10800”
    ellischart.ca/eng/trades/refrig-ac-mech/ellis-chart.shtml

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada. This indicates if the province or territory allows these experienced but uncertified workers to challenge certification examinations once they have demonstrated proof of eligible trade experience | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/refrig-ac-mech/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $22.00 $37.50 $56.00 —

Wages in every province and territory

Refrigerations and air conditioning mechanics in other provinces and territories

Compare refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/refrig-ac-mech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a refrigeration and air conditioning mechanic in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Red Seal exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.