Median wage in Canada
$28.50 an hour
Highest median wage
$30.82 an hour
British Columbia
Lowest median wage
$24.04 an hour
Ontario
Wages by province and territory
Median wage in Canadian dollars an hour, from 2023-2024 data (Job Bank 2025 release).
Median hourly wage for opticians by province and territory Canada: $28.50 (low $17.80, high $39.40). British Columbia: $30.82 (low $22.00, high $38.46). Saskatchewan: $30.10 (low $22.24, high $36.51). Quebec: $30.00 (low $17.00, high $36.50). Manitoba: $29.69 (low $21.16, high $37.86). Newfoundland and Labrador: $29.59 (low $20.43, high $38.51). New Brunswick: $28.50 (low $20.73, high $34.30). Nova Scotia: $28.07 (low $22.08, high $32.41). Alberta: $28.00 (low $17.36, high $39.40). Ontario: $24.04 (low $17.80, high $42.80). Prince Edward Island: not stated. Yukon: not stated. Northwest Territories: not stated. Nunavut: not stated. $0 $20 $40 $60 Canada: $28.50 (low $17.80, high $39.40) Canada $28.50 British Columbia: $30.82 (low $22.00, high $38.46) British Columbia $30.82 Saskatchewan: $30.10 (low $22.24, high $36.51) Saskatchewan $30.10 Quebec: $30.00 (low $17.00, high $36.50) Quebec $30.00 Manitoba: $29.69 (low $21.16, high $37.86) Manitoba $29.69 Newfoundland and Labrador: $29.59 (low $20.43, high $38.51) Newfoundland and Labrador $29.59 New Brunswick: $28.50 (low $20.73, high $34.30) New Brunswick $28.50 Nova Scotia: $28.07 (low $22.08, high $32.41) Nova Scotia $28.07 Alberta: $28.00 (low $17.36, high $39.40) Alberta $28.00 Ontario: $24.04 (low $17.80, high $42.80) Ontario $24.04 Prince Edward Island: not stated Prince Edward Island Not stated Yukon: not stated Yukon Not stated Northwest Territories: not stated Northwest Territories Not stated Nunavut: not stated Nunavut Not stated Bars show the median wage. Lines run from the low to the high wage, which are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles. Grey is all of Canada.
Median hourly wage for opticians by province and territory (table) Where Low Median High Canada $17.80 $28.50 $39.40 British Columbia $22.00 $30.82 $38.46 Saskatchewan $22.24 $30.10 $36.51 Quebec $17.00 $30.00 $36.50 Manitoba $21.16 $29.69 $37.86 Newfoundland and Labrador $20.43 $29.59 $38.51 New Brunswick $20.73 $28.50 $34.30 Nova Scotia $22.08 $28.07 $32.41 Alberta $17.36 $28.00 $39.40 Ontario $17.80 $24.04 $42.80 Prince Edward Island Not stated Not stated Not stated Yukon Not stated Not stated Not stated Northwest Territories Not stated Not stated Not stated Nunavut Not stated Not stated Not stated
Job outlook by province and territory
Job Bank’s 3-year outlook for 2025-2027, on a scale of 1 (very limited) to 5 (very good).
Job outlook for opticians by province and territory, 1 to 5 British Columbia: Moderate (3 of 5). Saskatchewan: Good (4 of 5). Quebec: Limited (2 of 5). Manitoba: Moderate (3 of 5). Newfoundland and Labrador: undetermined. New Brunswick: undetermined. Nova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5). Alberta: Good (4 of 5). Ontario: Good (4 of 5). Prince Edward Island: Good (4 of 5). Yukon: undetermined. Northwest Territories: undetermined. Nunavut: undetermined. 1 2 3 4 5 British Columbia: Moderate (3 of 5) British Columbia Moderate Saskatchewan: Good (4 of 5) Saskatchewan Good Quebec: Limited (2 of 5) Quebec Limited Manitoba: Moderate (3 of 5) Manitoba Moderate Newfoundland and Labrador: undetermined Newfoundland and Labrador Undetermined New Brunswick: undetermined New Brunswick Undetermined Nova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5) Nova Scotia Moderate Alberta: Good (4 of 5) Alberta Good Ontario: Good (4 of 5) Ontario Good Prince Edward Island: Good (4 of 5) Prince Edward Island Good Yukon: undetermined Yukon Undetermined Northwest Territories: undetermined Northwest Territories Undetermined Nunavut: undetermined Nunavut Undetermined 1 is a very limited outlook and 5 a very good one.
Licence needed?
In 10 of 13 provinces and territories. A licence, registration or certificate is required to work in this occupation in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Each regulator sets its own steps, fees and exams.
Education and training
TEER category 2
Usual education A college diploma or an apprenticeship of 2 or more years is usually required.
Wages from 2023-2024 data, Job Bank 2025 release. Job outlooks for 2025-2027.
Occupation titles, codes and TEER categories come from the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021, Statistics Canada. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada .