Median wage in Canada
$34.07 an hour
Highest median wage
$40.00 an hour
Quebec
Lowest median wage
$27.30 an hour
New Brunswick
Wages by province and territory
Median wage in Canadian dollars an hour, from 2023-2024 data (Job Bank 2025 release).
Median hourly wage for sheet metal workers by province and territory Canada: $34.07 (low $22.70, high $45.95). Quebec: $40.00 (low $25.50, high $44.79). Ontario: $35.00 (low $22.94, high $48.17). Newfoundland and Labrador: $34.75 (low $24.50, high $45.25). British Columbia: $32.16 (low $23.14, high $45.60). Alberta: $30.00 (low $20.00, high $42.00). Manitoba: $29.50 (low $20.00, high $42.00). Saskatchewan: $29.50 (low $19.74, high $44.66). Nova Scotia: $29.00 (low $19.50, high $38.32). New Brunswick: $27.30 (low $20.00, high $35.73). Prince Edward Island: not stated. Yukon: not stated. Northwest Territories: not stated. Nunavut: not stated. $0 $20 $40 $60 Canada: $34.07 (low $22.70, high $45.95) Canada $34.07 Quebec: $40.00 (low $25.50, high $44.79) Quebec $40.00 Ontario: $35.00 (low $22.94, high $48.17) Ontario $35.00 Newfoundland and Labrador: $34.75 (low $24.50, high $45.25) Newfoundland and Labrador $34.75 British Columbia: $32.16 (low $23.14, high $45.60) British Columbia $32.16 Alberta: $30.00 (low $20.00, high $42.00) Alberta $30.00 Manitoba: $29.50 (low $20.00, high $42.00) Manitoba $29.50 Saskatchewan: $29.50 (low $19.74, high $44.66) Saskatchewan $29.50 Nova Scotia: $29.00 (low $19.50, high $38.32) Nova Scotia $29.00 New Brunswick: $27.30 (low $20.00, high $35.73) New Brunswick $27.30 Prince Edward Island: not stated Prince Edward Island Not stated Yukon: not stated Yukon Not stated Northwest Territories: not stated Northwest Territories Not stated Nunavut: not stated Nunavut Not stated Bars show the median wage. Lines run from the low to the high wage, which are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles. Grey is all of Canada.
Median hourly wage for sheet metal workers by province and territory (table) Where Low Median High Canada $22.70 $34.07 $45.95 Quebec $25.50 $40.00 $44.79 Ontario $22.94 $35.00 $48.17 Newfoundland and Labrador $24.50 $34.75 $45.25 British Columbia $23.14 $32.16 $45.60 Alberta $20.00 $30.00 $42.00 Manitoba $20.00 $29.50 $42.00 Saskatchewan $19.74 $29.50 $44.66 Nova Scotia $19.50 $29.00 $38.32 New Brunswick $20.00 $27.30 $35.73 Prince Edward Island Not stated Not stated Not stated Yukon Not stated Not stated Not stated Northwest Territories Not stated Not stated Not stated Nunavut Not stated Not stated Not stated
Job outlook by province and territory
Job Bank’s 3-year outlook for 2025-2027, on a scale of 1 (very limited) to 5 (very good).
Job outlook for sheet metal workers by province and territory, 1 to 5 Quebec: Very limited (1 of 5). Ontario: Limited (2 of 5). Newfoundland and Labrador: undetermined. British Columbia: Limited (2 of 5). Alberta: Moderate (3 of 5). Manitoba: Moderate (3 of 5). Saskatchewan: Moderate (3 of 5). Nova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5). New Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5). Prince Edward Island: undetermined. Yukon: undetermined. Northwest Territories: undetermined. Nunavut: undetermined. 1 2 3 4 5 Quebec: Very limited (1 of 5) Quebec Very limited Ontario: Limited (2 of 5) Ontario Limited Newfoundland and Labrador: undetermined Newfoundland and Labrador Undetermined British Columbia: Limited (2 of 5) British Columbia Limited Alberta: Moderate (3 of 5) Alberta Moderate Manitoba: Moderate (3 of 5) Manitoba Moderate Saskatchewan: Moderate (3 of 5) Saskatchewan Moderate Nova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5) Nova Scotia Moderate New Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5) New Brunswick Moderate Prince Edward Island: undetermined Prince Edward Island Undetermined Yukon: undetermined Yukon Undetermined Northwest Territories: undetermined Northwest Territories Undetermined Nunavut: undetermined Nunavut Undetermined 1 is a very limited outlook and 5 a very good one.
Licence needed?
In 7 of 13 provinces and territories. A licence, registration or certificate is required to work in this occupation in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Certification is available but optional in 6 provinces or territories: Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Some roles in this group are licensed separately:
Each regulator sets its own steps, fees and exams.
Education and training
TEER category 2
Usual education A college diploma or an apprenticeship of 2 or more years is usually required.
Wages from 2023-2024 data, Job Bank 2025 release. Job outlooks for 2025-2027.
Occupation titles, codes and TEER categories come from the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021, Statistics Canada. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada .