Median wage
$40.19 an hour
Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula
Compared with Ontario
16.1% higher
$5.57 above the Ontario median of $34.62
Compared with Canada
16.1% higher
$5.57 above the Canadian median of $34.62
Job outlook
Limited
2 of 5, 2025-2027
Wages in Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula
In Canadian dollars an hour, from 2024 data. Low and high are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles.
Wage range in Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula and Canada Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula: median $40.19, from $28.77 to $56.67. Ontario (province): median $34.62, from $23.00 to $49.33, middle half $27.00 to $40.19. Canada: median $34.62, from $23.00 to $50.48, middle half $27.04 to $40.38. $20 $30 $40 $50 $60 Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula: median $40.19, from $28.77 to $56.67 Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula $40.19 Ontario (province): median $34.62, from $23.00 to $49.33, middle half $27.00 to $40.19 Ontario (province) $34.62 Canada: median $34.62, from $23.00 to $50.48, middle half $27.04 to $40.38 Canada $34.62 The line runs from the low to the high wage, the dot is the median.
Wages in Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula compared with Canada
Wage Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula Ontario Canada
Low
$28.77
$23.00
$23.00
Lower quartile
Not stated
$27.00
$27.04
Median
$40.19
$34.62
$34.62
Upper quartile
Not stated
$40.19
$40.38
High
$56.67
$49.33
$50.48
Average
Not stated
$34.85
$35.18
Job outlook
Limited (2 of 5) for 2025-2027, from Job Bank’s 3-year outlook for Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula.
Education and training
TEER category 2
Usual education A college diploma or an apprenticeship of 2 or more years is usually required.
By region in Ontario
Job Bank’s economic regions, highest median first. A region links to its own page where its figures differ from the province’s.
Wage range by economic region in Ontario Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula: median $40.19, from $28.77 to $56.67. Muskoka – Kawarthas: median $37.94, from $28.97 to $49.84. Kitchener – Waterloo – Barrie: median $36.00, from $22.50 to $51.00. Toronto: median $35.63, from $24.21 to $50.47. Stratford – Bruce Peninsula: median $35.53, from $26.72 to $47.40. Kingston – Pembroke: median $34.59, from $26.43 to $44.20. London: median $33.65, from $23.50 to $40.87. Windsor – Sarnia: median $33.00, from $24.00 to $48.08. Ottawa: not stated. Northeast: not stated. Northwest: not stated. $20 $30 $40 $50 $60 Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula: median $40.19, from $28.77 to $56.67 Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula $40.19 Muskoka – Kawarthas: median $37.94, from $28.97 to $49.84 Muskoka – Kawarthas $37.94 Kitchener – Waterloo – Barrie: median $36.00, from $22.50 to $51.00 Kitchener – Waterloo – Barrie $36.00 Toronto: median $35.63, from $24.21 to $50.47 Toronto $35.63 Stratford – Bruce Peninsula: median $35.53, from $26.72 to $47.40 Stratford – Bruce Peninsula $35.53 Kingston – Pembroke: median $34.59, from $26.43 to $44.20 Kingston – Pembroke $34.59 London: median $33.65, from $23.50 to $40.87 London $33.65 Windsor – Sarnia: median $33.00, from $24.00 to $48.08 Windsor – Sarnia $33.00 Ottawa: not stated Ottawa Not stated Northeast: not stated Northeast Not stated Northwest: not stated Northwest Not stated The line runs from the low to the high wage and the dot is the median.
Wage range by economic region in Ontario (table) Region Low Median High Outlook Hamilton – Niagara Peninsula $28.77 $40.19 $56.67 Limited (2 of 5) Muskoka – Kawarthas $28.97 $37.94 $49.84 Undetermined Kitchener – Waterloo – Barrie $22.50 $36.00 $51.00 Limited (2 of 5) Toronto $24.21 $35.63 $50.47 Limited (2 of 5) Stratford – Bruce Peninsula $26.72 $35.53 $47.40 Limited (2 of 5) Kingston – Pembroke $26.43 $34.59 $44.20 Undetermined London $23.50 $33.65 $40.87 Limited (2 of 5) Windsor – Sarnia $24.00 $33.00 $48.08 Limited (2 of 5) Ottawa Not stated Not stated Not stated Undetermined Northeast Not stated Not stated Not stated Undetermined Northwest Not stated Not stated Not stated Undetermined
Wages from 2024 data, Job Bank 2025 release. Job outlooks for 2025-2027.
Occupation titles, codes and TEER categories come from the National Occupational Classification (NOC) 2021, Statistics Canada. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada .