At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train them.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/floorcovering-ins...
  2. You apply to become a registered apprentice, making sure you meet the registration eligibility requirements.

    Source
    “Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, such as specific high school courses, an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.

    Source
    “You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  4. Complete the two periods of the apprenticeship program, each including 1,500 hours of on-the-job work experience and 7 weeks of classroom instruction, with a theory exam required in each period.

    Source
    “- 2 periods (levels) - All periods: - 1500 hours work experience per period - 7 weeks classroom instruction per period - Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $130
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029
  2. You pass a practical exam that costs $130.00.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($130.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $130

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $130 100%
One-time total $130 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $130
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You complete 36 months and 4,500 hours of verifiable Floorcovering Installer work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 36 months and 4500 hours of verifiable Floorcovering Installer work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029
  2. You pass a practical exam that costs $130.00.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($130.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $130

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $130 100%
One-time total $130 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • To enroll in classroom instruction as an apprentice, you must have passed English 10-2 and Math 10-3, or a GED or CAEC certificate, or pass an entrance exam.

    Source
    “- Entrance requirements: - English 10-2 and Math 10-3 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 36 months and 4,500 hours of verifiable Floorcovering Installer work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 36 months and 4500 hours of verifiable Floorcovering Installer work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Applicants with a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta must submit the certificate and pass a theory exam and a practical exam to be certified.

Source
“Recognized Credentials Program 1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam. 3. Pass a practical exam ($130.00).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029
  2. Pass a practical exam

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($130.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $17.00 $25.00 $42.31 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $17.00 $26.00 $43.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Floorcovering installers in other provinces and territories

Compare floorcovering installer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Floorcovering Installer tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/029 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Floorcovering Installer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/floorcovering-ins... · fetched October 8, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a floorcovering installer in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal Exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.