At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 24.9 to 50.3 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. Before applying, confirm that you meet the basic eligibility conditions for registering as an apprentice in the program.

    Source
    “To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must:”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  2. Find an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.

    Source
    “is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  3. Apply to register as an apprentice and pay the non-refundable application fee.

    Source
    “You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  4. As a registered apprentice, spend most of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.

    Source
    “80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  5. Spend the remaining part of your apprenticeship learning at in-school technical training each year.

    Time: 4 to 10 weeks
    Time source
    “In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
  6. When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.

    Time: 2 to 4 years
    Time source
    “let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
    Source
    “When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
    yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Red Seal Endorsement Offered (Yes/No) Indicates whether or not the province or territory can offer a Red Seal endorsement for this trade”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/floorcovering-installer/ellis-chart.shtml

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/floorcovering-installer/ellis-chart.shtml

Requirements

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon.

Source
“Red Seal Endorsement Offered (Yes/No) Indicates whether or not the province or territory can offer a Red Seal endorsement for this trade”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/floorcovering-installer/ellis-chart.shtml

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Yukon and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Yukon — — — Undetermined
Canada $17.00 $26.00 $43.00 —

Wages in every province and territory

Floorcovering installers in other provinces and territories

Compare floorcovering installer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Floorcovering Installer – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/floorcovering-installer/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a floorcovering installer in Yukon?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.

Which exams are required?

apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.