At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

The steps are not listed yet.

Check the current steps with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Requirements

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Ironworkers already certified in another Canadian province or territory can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or licence that Alberta recognizes.

Source
“Ironworkers from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $27.00 $40.60 $51.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $29.00 $43.00 $49.80 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Ironworkers in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Certification required
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare ironworker licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Ironworker: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/ironworker · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an ironworker in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Entrance exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.