How to Become an Ironworker in Quebec
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Ironworker is a compulsory trade in Quebec. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Trade Apprenticeship periods Duration of apprenticeship (Number of hours) ... Ironworker”
From ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- renewal: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
- renewal: $100
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The CCQ informs apprentices that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
The apprentice contacts Customer Services to determine the date and location of the examination and pays the $100 registration fee, or writes a letter to the regional office with a cheque or money order for $100.
- exam: $100
Source
“They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Source
“Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination. They must pay the $100 registration fee with a credit card”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... - exam: $100
-
The apprentice takes the provincial qualification examination on the scheduled date and location.
Source
“If they wish to register for the examination before the end of their apprenticeship, they must: Contact Customer Services at 1 888 842-8282 to determine the date and location of their examination.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... -
Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.
Source
“Apprentice candidates who have passed their provincial qualification examination automatically obtain their competency certificate free of charge.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- renewal: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The worker obtains the Red Seal endorsement through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program.
Source
“The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program has designated a list of trades and occupations for which workers may obtain Red Seal endorsement.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge -
- application: $100 (payment required with the application)
Source
“Payment of the $100 fee required (cheque, money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge
Source
“Workers who have obtained the Red Seal endorsement have their skills in this trade recognized and may apply for a competency certificate from the CCQ's Customer Services by mail or by going to one of the regional offices.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge - application: $100 (payment required with the application)
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- renewal: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $100
-
The candidate must arrive in Québec before applying for the certificate, even if some steps were initiated before immigrating to Canada.
Source
“IMPORTANT: This application can be made only once you arrive in Québec, even if some steps have been initiated before you immigrate to Canada.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
After the preliminary analysis is accepted, the candidate may apply to obtain a competency certificate from the CCQ.
Source
“After the preliminary analysis is accepted, you may apply to obtain an ACC from the CCQ.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... -
The candidate takes the 30-hour course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction offered through schools or industry associations.
Source
“The 30-hour course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction is offered through the schools in the different school boards or through the construction industry's employer and union associations.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- renewal: $100
Source
“Pay the required $100 fee, if applicable (cheque, postal money order, credit card, debit card, or cash)”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Requirements
Experience
Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised the trade and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade covered.
Source
“Candidates must demonstrate, with supporting documents, that they have practised a trade or specialty and acquired experience in hours worked and, if applicable, in training credits, at least equal to the total duration of the apprenticeship for the trade or specialty covered.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Other
Applicants must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“Be at least 16 years old”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must have a social insurance number.
Source
“Have a social insurance number”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must provide their home address.
Source
“Provide their home address”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must provide a photocopy of an official document from the CCQ's list.
Source
“Provide a photocopy of an official document from among the following list”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...Applicants must demonstrate that they have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction.
Source
“Demonstrate that they have passed the course Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Register with the CCQ
Source
“Holders of an Ontario certificate in a trade or occupation recognized under the agreement must register with the CCQ to obtain a registration certificate.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Exams
-
provincial qualification examination
Source
“Apprentices are informed by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) that they are eligible for the provincial qualification examination in their trade when they have completed 85% of their apprenticeship.”
ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Commission de la construction du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $35.10 | $44.23 | $48.60 | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Canada | $29.00 | $43.00 | $49.80 | — |
Ironworkers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Apprentice ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Eligibility ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/examen-qualification-2/adm... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Journeyperson ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/certificat-competence/comp... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Red Seal ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/sceau-rouge · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intergovernmental Agreements (ON, NB, NL) ccq.org/en/qualification-acces-industrie/exterieur-quebec/ententes-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an ironworker in Quebec?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Quebec. Certification is managed by the Commission de la construction du Québec.
Which exams are required?
provincial qualification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.