At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before applying to become a registered apprentice, you must make sure you meet the eligibility requirements to register.

    Source
    “Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. Before enrolling in classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. You complete the 2-period apprenticeship education program, working on the job and attending classroom instruction.

    Source
    “2-Period Apprenticeship Program”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406
  4. Apprentices pass their final period exam, after which apprentices in Red Seal trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school.

    Source
    “Apprentices in Red Seal Trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school after they pass their final period exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • Entrance requirements for apprenticeship include specific high school courses that you must have passed, or alternatives such as an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 36 months and 4860 hours of verifiable Ironworker - Reinforcing work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 36 months and 4860 hours of verifiable Ironworker - Reinforcing work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Ironworkers from other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, and under the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit a copy of that certificate and pass a theory exam.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $27.00 $40.60 $51.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $29.00 $43.00 $49.80 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Ironworkers (Reinforcing) in other provinces and territories

Compare ironworker (Reinforcing) licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Ironworker (Reinforcing) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0406 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an ironworker (Reinforcing) in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

entrance exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.