How to Become a Lather (interior Systems Mechanic) in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Lather (interior systems mechanic) is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“3-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You must find an employer who is willing to hire and train you as an apprentice.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lather-interior-s... -
You apply to become a registered apprentice, and you can start working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.
Source
“You can register and start one part of your apprenticeship journey while working toward the other requirements. As long as you meet the registration eligibility requirements, you can: - Begin working on the job before you meet entrance requirements for classroom instruction”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period [classroom instruction]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete a three-year apprenticeship that includes on-the-job training hours and weeks of classroom instruction in each year.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lather-interior-s... -
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Certification - Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017 -
After completing your apprenticeship, you may take the Red Seal exam in this trade.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“If you have experience in the trade but do not hold an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate, you may be eligible for the Trades Qualifier Program.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- PLA exam fee: $150
Source
“Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic) | 1,2,3 | $150.00 each | n/a”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - PLA entrance exam fee: $150 (for this application)
Source
“Take this if you don't meet the educational requirements, to show you're ready to attend apprenticeship classes. - There is a $150 fee for this application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction as a registered apprentice, you must meet entrance requirements that include specific high school courses, or alternatives such as an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
To qualify through the Work Experience Program, you must complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable work experience in the trade.
Source
“1. Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic) work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017
Other
To register as an apprentice, you must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lather-interior-s...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Lathers trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or licence, and to get an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their certificate and pass a theory exam. Source
“Lather (interior systems mechanics) trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lather-interior-s...
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017 -
Red Seal exam
-
PLA entrance exam
Source
“PLA entrance exam: If you pass, you can start apprenticeship classes without the required high school courses when you register as an apprentice.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $20.00 | $28.65 | $37.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.00 | $33.00 | $43.75 | — |
Lathers (interior systems mechanic) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare lather (interior systems mechanic) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/017 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic): Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lather-interior-s... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a lather (interior systems mechanic) in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, PLA entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.