How to Become a Lather (interior Systems Mechanic) in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Lather (interior systems mechanic) is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/lather-int-sys-mech/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program and pay the application fee.
- Apprentice application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Apprentice application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend most of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson while getting paid.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
You also spend part of each year in in-school technical training, the length of which varies by trade.
Source
“20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee for a Yukon Certificate of Qualification: $15 (non-refundable, to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification)
Source
“You will need to pay a non-refundable $15 application fee to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... - Practical examination fee: $20
Source
“The practical examination fee is $20 and is non-refundable.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Requirements
Education
To register as an apprentice you must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Experience
A trade qualifier without a Canadian apprenticeship must show a minimum number of hours working in the trade to be eligible to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Required Hours for Trade Qualifier Provinces and Territories dictate a minimum number of required hours working in a trade for a trade qualifier to be eligible to challenge any certification examination”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/lather-int-sys-mech/ellis-chart.shtml
Residency
To register as an apprentice you must be a Yukon resident.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must work for an employer who employs a journeyperson certified in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“- work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon for this trade. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/lather-int-sys-mech/ellis-chart.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam in your trade based on: - your previous experience and training; and - the requirements of your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Review the Red Seal Exam Preparation Guide for more information about the Red Seal exam, how to prepare and practise questions.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $23.00 | $33.00 | $43.75 | — |
Lathers (interior systems mechanic) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare lather (interior systems mechanic) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic) – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/lather-int-sys-mech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a lather (interior systems mechanic) in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Apprenticeship level 1 exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.