How to Become a Midwife in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Midwives of Alberta to work as a midwife in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf], Health Professions Restricted Activity Regulation [pdf], and Midwives Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the College of Midwives of Alberta (CMA) is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/midwife, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $4,925 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $4,925
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $5,375
- Annual fees
-
- Renewal fee: $150
Source
“Renewal fee ---------------------------------------------------------------------------C$150”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw
- Renewal fee: $150
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $4,925
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant completes and submits the online application with the applicable fees and documentation.
- Application fee: $300
Source
“Application fee ------------------------------------------------------------------------C$300”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook - Change of status fee: $25 (if you are a registered student)
Source
“Change of status fee (if you are a registered student) ---------------------------------C$25”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook
Source
“To start the application process, you must complete and submit the online application with the applicable fee(s) and documentation.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook - Application fee: $300
-
The applicant submits graduation documentation, exam evidence, certifications, criminal record check, identification, work eligibility proof, declarations, insurance evidence and fee payment.
Source
“For Registration a New Graduate must submit: - Application for registration - Submit NR application forms for mentor and practice approval - Original documentation of graduation, including transcript and clinical records - Evidence of completion of the Canadian Midwifery Registration Exam (CMRE)”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook -
CMA staff review the application and within 5 business days notify the applicant whether it is complete or if requirements are pending.
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbookSource
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook -
With a registration number, the applicant applies for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives and starts the application process with the PCA Provincial Midwifery Administration Office.
- Membership with AAM and Insurance: $750
Source
“Membership with AAM and Insurance --------------------------------------------------C$750”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Source
“With your registration number available, you will be able to apply for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives (AAM) and start your application process with the PCA, Provincial Midwifery Administration Office (PMAO).”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook - Membership with AAM and Insurance: $750
-
Once insurance is ready, the applicant contacts the CMA for assistance with practice fees, and the certificate is issued once PCA PMAO confirms insurance eligibility.
- Practice Permit fee: $3,875
Source
“Practice Permit fee* -------------------------------------------------------------------C$3875”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook
Source
“Once your insurance is ready, you should contact the CMA for assistance with your practice fees. Please note: Since PCA provides insurance coverage, your certificate will only be issued by the AAM once PCA, PMAO confirms your eligibility for insurance.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook - Practice Permit fee: $3,875
-
Upon a complete application the CMA approves within 10 business days and issues the certificate of registration and practice permit.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbookSource
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $4,925
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $4,925 | 100% |
| One-time total | $4,925 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Renewal fee: $150
Source
“Renewal fee ---------------------------------------------------------------------------C$150”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $4,925
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant completes and submits the online application with the applicable fees and documentation.
- Application fee: $300
Source
“Application fee ------------------------------------------------------------------------C$300”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Source
“To start the application process, you must complete and submit the online application with the applicable fee(s) and documentation.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Application fee: $300
-
The applicant submits an application for registration, letter of standing, English proficiency evidence if applicable, criminal record check, identification, work eligibility proof, conduct answers, insurance evidence and fee payment.
Source
“For Registration an applicant must submit: - Application for registration - Provide a letter of standing and professional conduct - Provide evidence of English language proficiency if applicable”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep -
CMA staff review the application and within 5 business days notify the applicant whether it is complete or if requirements are pending.
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepSource
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep -
With a registration number, the applicant applies for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives and starts the application process with the PCA Provincial Midwifery Administration Office.
- Membership with AAM and Insurance: $750
Source
“Membership with AAM and Insurance --------------------------------------------------C$750”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Source
“With your registration number available, you will be able to apply for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives (AAM) and start your application process with the PCA, Provincial Midwifery Administration Office (PMAO).”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Membership with AAM and Insurance: $750
-
Once insurance is ready, the applicant contacts the CMA for assistance with practice fees, and the certificate is issued once PCA PMAO confirms insurance eligibility.
- Practice Permit fee: $3,875
Source
“Practice Permit fee --------------------------------------------------------------------C$3875”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Source
“Once your insurance is ready, you should contact the CMA for assistance with your practice fees. Please note: Since PCA provides insurance coverage, your certificate will only be issued by the AAM once PCA, PMAO confirms your eligibility for insurance.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Practice Permit fee: $3,875
-
Upon a complete application the CMA approves within 10 business days and issues the certificate of registration and practice permit.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepSource
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $4,925
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $4,925 | 100% |
| One-time total | $4,925 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Renewal fee: $150
Source
“Renewal fee ---------------------------------------------------------------------------C$150”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $5,375
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 2 of 8 steps state a time)
-
Source
“You must meet all of the following requirements before submitting a PLEA application.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants -
The applicant submits a PLEA application with registration documents including an education credential assessment, original graduation documentation, syllabi and competencies.
- Application fee: $1,500
Source
“Application fee ------------------------------------------------------------------------C$1500”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Source
“For Registration an applicant must submit: - Application for registration - Education Credential Assessment (WES/IQAS) - Original documentation of graduation, including transcript and clinical records - Course Syllabi - Mandatory Competencies”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants - Application fee: $1,500
-
CMA staff review the application and within 5 business days notify the applicant whether it is complete or if requirements are pending.
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicantsSource
“Within 5 business days, you will receive notification as to whether your initial application is complete or if any requirements are still pending.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants -
The Registration Committee reviews the application and decides whether to recommend the applicant for the next steps, the CMRE and OSCE.
Source
“Registration Committee will initially decide if they support your application and recommend you for next steps (CMRE and OSCE). You will be notified via email and a letter will be sent on behalf of the Committee.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants -
The applicant completes the CMRE and the OSCE, after which the Registration Committee issues a final decision on the application.
Source
“Once you complete the CMRE and the OSCE, Registration Committee will issue a final decision regarding your application.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants -
If approved, the applicant is notified of eligibility pending insurance and practice fees, and with a registration number applies for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives and starts the PCA PMAO process.
Source
“With your registration number available, you will be able to apply for insurance with the Alberta Association of Midwives (AAM) and start your application process with the PCA, Provincial Midwifery Administration Office (PMAO).”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants -
Once insurance is ready, the applicant contacts the CMA for assistance with practice fees, and the certificate is issued once PCA PMAO confirms insurance eligibility.
- Practice Permit fee: $3,875
Source
“Practice Permit fee --------------------------------------------------------------------C$3875”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Source
“Once your insurance is ready, you should contact the CMA for assistance with your practice fees. Please note: Since PCA provides insurance coverage, your certificate will only be issued by the AAM once PCA, PMAO confirms your eligibility for insurance.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants - Practice Permit fee: $3,875
-
Upon a complete application the CMA approves within 10 business days and issues the certificate of registration and practice permit.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicantsSource
“Upon a complete application, CMA should be able to approve your application within 10 business days unless there are extenuating circumstances.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $5,375
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $5,375 | 100% |
| One-time total | $5,375 | 100% |
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Renewal fee: $150
Source
“Renewal fee ---------------------------------------------------------------------------C$150”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Review fee: $300 (if applicable)
Source
“Review fee (if applicable) --------------------------------------------------------------C$300”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Criminal Record Check Canada: $40
Source
“Criminal Record Check Canada -------------------------------------------------------C$40-$75”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Criminal Record Check Canada: $75
Source
“Criminal Record Check Canada -------------------------------------------------------C$40-$75”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep - Application fee: $150
Source
“Application fee ------------------------------------------------------------------------C$150”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw
Requirements
Experience
Internationally educated applicants must provide evidence of at least 50 births within the previous five years, either as a Primary Midwife or as a student during a midwifery education program.
Source
“Evidence of at least 50 births within the previous five years, either: - As a Primary Midwife; or - As a student during a midwifery education program.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicantsInternationally educated applicants must provide evidence of recent practice as a Primary Midwife within the previous two years.
Source
“Evidence of recent practice as a Primary Midwife within the previous two years.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Police check
Applicants must provide a current criminal record check completed within the last 6 months.
Source
“Provide a current criminal record check (within 6 months)”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Insurance
Applicants must provide evidence of professional liability insurance.
Source
“Provide evidence of professional liability insurance”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Other
Applicants must submit proof of eligibility to work in Canada.
Source
“Submit proof of eligibility to work in Canada”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepApplicants must provide evidence of English language proficiency if applicable.
Source
“Provide evidence of English language proficiency if applicable - See English Language Proficiency Policy for more information.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepApplicants must provide a letter of standing and professional conduct.
Source
“Provide a letter of standing and professional conduct”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepApplicants must answer the professional conduct questions.
Source
“Answer the professional conduct questions”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mepApplicants must hold current certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Obstetrical Emergency Skills, Neonatal Resuscitation Program and Fetal Health Surveillance.
Source
“Current Certification in: Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (valid within 2 years), Obstetrical Emergency Skills (valid within 2 years), Neonatal Resuscitation Program (valid within 1 year) and Fetal Health Surveillance through Perinatal Services BC (valid within 2 years)”
albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbookInternationally educated applicants must have completed a midwifery education program leading to a degree, diploma or certificate in midwifery.
Source
“Completion of a midwifery education program leading to a degree, diploma or certificate in midwifery.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Midwives registered in another Canadian jurisdiction are not required to complete the competence requirements for registration under the Labour Mobility Act, though they have 6 months after registration to complete them. Source
“As per the Labour Mobility Act, you will not be required to complete the competence requirements for registration. Once you are registered with the CMA, you will have 6 months to complete these requirements:”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CMA
Credential assessment
Education Credential Assessment (WES/IQAS)
required for internationally educated midwife registration
Source
“Education Credential Assessment (WES/IQAS)”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Exams
-
Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE)
Source
“Successful completion of the Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/midwife -
OSCE
Source
“Once you complete the CMRE and the OSCE, Registration Committee will issue a final decision regarding your application.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CMA
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CMA
Supervised practice
Required
The PLEA process for internationally educated midwives may include supervised practice in Alberta. Source
“A process that may include supervised practice in Alberta.”
albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $24.97 | $38.28 | $53.71 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.09 | $46.81 | $60.26 | — |
Midwives in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Midwife: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/midwife · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicants from a Candian MEP | midwives albertamidwives.org/registrant-s-handbook · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian Registered Midwives | midwives albertamidwives.org/copy-of-applicants-from-a-candian-mep · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Midwives | midwives albertamidwives.org/copy-of-interprovincial-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Student Application | midwives albertamidwives.org/copy-of-internationally-educated-midw · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a midwife in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Midwives of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Midwifery Registration Examination (CMRE), OSCE.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.