At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
  • Annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization (professional corporation): $250
    Source
    “The fee for the annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization is $250.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $250
  • Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
  1. The applicant submits the application form for MEP graduates to the College.

    Source
    “Application form (MEP graduate)”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  2. The applicant must show the active practice and birth attendance numbers required by the Registration Regulation.

    Source
    “When applying, prospective registrants who graduated from an Ontario Midwifery Education Program are expected to have the following clinical experience:”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  3. The applicant must show evidence of insurance that will be effective on the date of registration.

    Source
    “The College of Midwives of Ontario requires the applicant show appropriate evidence of insurance that will be effective on the date the applicant will be registered.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  4. The College processes complete applications within 10 business days.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “The College will process complete applications within 10 business days.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
    Source
    “The College will process complete applications within 10 business days.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization (professional corporation): $250
    Source
    “The fee for the annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization is $250.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $250
  1. A midwife registered and in good standing with another Canadian regulator can apply for registration in Ontario under the out-of-province certificate holder provisions.

    Source
    “Accordingly, a midwife who is registered and in good standing with another Canadian midwifery regulator can apply for registration in Ontario and will be considered under the out-of-province certificate holder provisions of the Registration Regulation, under the *Midwifery Act, 1991*.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  2. The applicant obtains liability insurance through HIROC by way of membership with the Association of Ontario Midwives, effective on the registration date.

    Source
    “Applicants will obtain liability insurance through HIROC by way of membership with the Association of Ontario Midwives.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization (professional corporation): $250
    Source
    “The fee for the annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization is $250.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives

Trained outside Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $250
  • Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. The applicant must first complete one of the College-approved bridging or assessment programs before applying.

    Source
    “In order to be registered in Ontario, all internationally educated midwives must first complete one of the College-approved bridging or assessment programs before applying.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  2. Participants in the Orientation and Assessment Pilot Program must successfully complete three foundational assessment modules online.

    Source
    “All participants in the Orientation and Assessment Pilot Program must successfully complete three foundational assessment modules online that contain information about practising midwifery in Canada, overviews of expected competencies, and an introduction to the Canadian healthcare system.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem
  3. Following the online modules and external courses, participants must successfully complete the 10-day in-person intensive course.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “Following the online modules and external courses, participants must successfully complete the 10-day in-person intensive course.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem
    Source
    “Following the online modules and external courses, participants must successfully complete the 10-day in-person intensive course.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem
  4. Participants must successfully complete all included components and pass all assessments to complete the Orientation and Assessment Process.

    Source
    “Participants must successfully complete all included components and pass all assessments to complete the College’s Orientation and Assessment Process and move on to write the CMRE.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem
  5. After completing the Orientation and Assessment Process, the participant moves on to write the CMRE.

    Source
    “Participants must successfully complete all included components and pass all assessments to complete the College’s Orientation and Assessment Process and move on to write the CMRE.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem
  6. The applicant applies to the College and must meet the registration requirements in place at the time of application.

    Source
    “To be registered, you will need to meet the registration requirements in place at the time of your application with the College.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization (professional corporation): $250
    Source
    “The fee for the annual renewal of a Certificate of Authorization is $250.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Competency-Based Assessment fee: $1,200 (for candidates who qualify for competency-based assessment)
    Source
    “Candidates who qualify for competency-based assessment are required to pay a fee of CAD $1,200.00\* to participate in the program.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/competency-based-assessment-program
  • Class change application fee (inactive to general): $100 (paid upon notice by the College of an available invoice)
    Source
    “Payment of a $100 class change application fee from inactive to general upon notice by the College of an available invoice.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives
  • Jurisprudence Course fee: $150
    Source
    “The fee for the Jurisprudence Course is $150.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives
  • NSF processing fee: $40 (for cheques not honoured by the bank)
    Source
    “Each cheque, including second instalment cheques, not honoured by the bank is subject to a $40 NSF processing fee, in addition to the penalty fee as the renewal application may be deemed late”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/maintaining-your-registration/renewal-guide-and-faq
  • Fees to change to general class (October): $1,519
    Source
    “| October | $ 1,519 | plus $100 |”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have a degree from a Midwifery Education Program in Ontario, have completed the IMPBP, or be applying as an inter-provincial applicant.

    Source
    “The Registration Regulation requires that all applicants seeking a general certificate of registration with the College must: - Have a degree from a Midwifery Education Program in Ontario, - Have completed the International Midwifery Preregistration Bridging Program (IMPBP) offered by the Chang School/Toronto Metropolitan University, or - Be applying as an inter-provincial applicant.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  • All internationally educated midwives must first complete one of the College-approved bridging or assessment programs before applying.

    Source
    “In order to be registered in Ontario, all internationally educated midwives must first complete one of the College-approved bridging or assessment programs before applying.”
    cmo.on.ca/iem

Experience

  • Applicants must have active practice for at least two of the four years before applying, or apply within two years of completing their program.

    Source
    “Active practice for at least two out of the four years immediately before the date of the application. You have met this requirement if you apply for a certificate of registration within two years of completing your Midwifery Education Program.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration
  • Applicants must have attended at least 60 births, including 40 as primary midwife, 30 with continuity of care, 10 in hospital and 10 in a residence, remote clinic or remote birth centre.

    Source
    “- Attendance of at least 60 births with the following minimums: - 40 attended as a primary midwife\* - 30 attended as part of the care provided to a client in accordance with the principles of continuity of care\*, - 10 attended in hospital, and - 10 attended in a residence, remote clinic, or remote birth centre”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Police check

Insurance

  • Applicants must show appropriate evidence of professional liability insurance effective on the date of registration.

    Source
    “The College of Midwives of Ontario requires the applicant show appropriate evidence of insurance that will be effective on the date the applicant will be registered.”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Residency

Other

  • Former registrant applicants must provide proof of current training in CPR, Obstetrical Emergency Skills and Neonatal Resuscitation.

    Source
    “Proof of current training in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR), Obstetrical Emergency Skills (ES) and Neonatal Resuscitation (NRP)”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration/former-registrant-applica...
  • Former registrant applicants must provide proof of completion of the College's Jurisprudence Course.

    Source
    “Proof of completion of the College’s Jurisprudence Course”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration/former-registrant-applica...
  • Former registrants must have a degree from an Ontario Midwifery Education Program or have completed the IMPP or the College's Orientation and Assessment Pilot Program, meet clinical experience requirements, and complete the qualifying examination.

    Source
    “- Have a degree from a Midwifery Education Program in Ontario or have completed the International Midwifery Pre-registration Program or the College’s Orientation and Assessment Pilot Program. - Meet the current clinical experience requirements set out in the Registration Regulation. - Complete the qualifying examination”
    cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

A midwife registered and in good standing with another Canadian midwifery regulator can apply for registration in Ontario under the out-of-province certificate holder provisions, and CFTA labour mobility provisions state certified workers must be recognized without significant additional training, work experience, examination or assessment.

Source
““Labour Mobility provisions of the CFTA (Chapter 7) state that certified workers have to be recognized as qualified to work by a regulatory body in another province or territory which regulates that occupation, without having to go through significant additional training, work experience, examination or assessment, unless an exception has been posted.””
cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Midwives of Ontario

Supervised practice

Not required

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Ontario and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Ontario $24.47 $43.93 $56.37 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $24.09 $46.81 $60.26 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Ontario

Wages in every province and territory

Midwives in other provinces and territories

Compare midwife licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Apply for Registration cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Internationally Educated Midwives cmo.on.ca/iem · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Former Registrant Application Process cmo.on.ca/midwives/apply-for-registration/former-registrant-applica... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Forms for Midwives cmo.on.ca/midwives/forms-for-midwives · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Competency-Based Assessment Program cmo.on.ca/midwives/competency-based-assessment-program · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Renewal Guide and FAQ cmo.on.ca/midwives/maintaining-your-registration/renewal-guide-and-faq · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Maintaining Your Registration cmo.on.ca/midwives/maintaining-your-registration · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a midwife in Ontario?

Yes. Registration with the College of Midwives of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario, and to use the title midwife.

Which exams are required?

CMRE, Qualifying examination, Competency-Based Assessment (structured oral examination), College's Jurisprudence Course.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.