How to Become a Teacher in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with The Registrar at Alberta Education to work as a teacher in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Education Act [pdf] and Certification of Teachers and Teacher Leaders Regulation [pdf], school teachers must have a valid certificate from the Government of Alberta .”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 0 steps
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Licensed in another province
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“For details about all requirements, contact the Government of Alberta or visit the Government of Alberta website.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Requirements
Education
Applicants for an interim professional certificate must have completed 4 years of university education and a recognized degree.
Source
“4 years of university education and a recognized degree”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacherApplicants must have 48 semester-hour credits in teacher-education coursework as part of the degree.
Source
“48 semester-hour credits in teacher-education coursework (as part of the degree)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacherApplicants must have completed a minimum of 10 weeks of supervised student teaching at an approved institution as part of the degree.
Source
“A minimum of 10 weeks of supervised student teaching at an approved institution (as part of the degree)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Experience
Applicants for a permanent professional certificate need 2 years of full-time teaching experience in an Alberta accredited school while holding a valid interim professional certificate.
Source
“2 years of full-time teaching experience (approximately 400 days equivalent) in an Alberta accredited school while holding a valid interim professional certificate”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Police check
Applicants must have a criminal record check with a vulnerable sector search.
Source
“A criminal record check with a vulnerable sector search”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Other
Applicants for a permanent professional certificate need 2 successful evaluations of classroom performance based on meeting the requirements in the Teaching Quality Standard.
Source
“2 successful evaluations of classroom performance based on meeting the requirements in the Teaching Quality Standard”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacherApplicants for a permanent professional certificate need a recommendation from the employing school authority.
Source
“Recommendation from the employing school authority”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Individuals who hold a valid teaching certificate from another Canadian jurisdiction are eligible for certification in Alberta without additional training or examination, though evidence of language proficiency may be required. Source
“Individuals who hold a valid teaching certificate from another Canadian jurisdiction are eligible for certification in Alberta without additional training or examination. Evidence of language proficiency may be required.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with The Registrar at Alberta Education
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $24.62 | $38.46 | $52.75 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.67 | $43.27 | $56.59 | — |
Teachers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Teacher: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/teacher · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a teacher in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with The Registrar at Alberta Education is required to practise in Alberta.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.