How to Become a Teacher in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board to work as a teacher in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“A Professional A Certificate confers eligibility to teach all subjects to students in all grades in Saskatchewan’s publicly funded school system.”
From sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Annual_Registration/Public_Registry_Glossary.aspx, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You must create an online account to access the online application form.
Source
“All applicants must create an online account to access the online application form.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You must complete the online application form in one session, since partially filled forms cannot be saved.
Source
“The online application does not allow you to save a partially filled form. You must complete the form in one session, or you will need to restart the form.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You upload copies of the documents requested in the application, which include government-issued ID and official transcripts sent directly from the issuing institutions.
Source
“Upload copies of documents as requested.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You must provide a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Check completed by a law enforcement agency for employment purposes.
Source
“Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Check (must be for employment purposes and valid within three months of certification).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra... -
You complete the payment of the application fee as part of the online application.
Source
“Applicants who have selected the online payment option will follow the instructions given in the payment section and complete the payment process.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You must create an online account to access the online application form.
Source
“All applicants must create an online account to access the online application form.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You must complete the online application form in one session, since partially filled forms cannot be saved.
Source
“The online application does not allow you to save a partially filled form. You must complete the form in one session, or you will need to restart the form.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You upload copies of the documents requested in the application.
Source
“Upload copies of documents as requested.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... -
You complete the payment of the application fee as part of the online application.
Source
“Applicants who have selected the online payment option will follow the instructions given in the payment section and complete the payment process.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to Pathways to Teach Canada for a Credential Assessment Report covering all post-secondary coursework completed outside of Canada.
Source
“All post-secondary coursework completed outside of Canada must be assessed by Pathways to Teach Canada including official transcripts related to:”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr... -
If your first language is not English or French and you have never completed a post-secondary degree or certificate entirely in English or French, you must complete an LCATP test before applying to the SPTRB.
Source
“If your first language is not English or French, and you have never completed a post-secondary degree (or certificate) entirely in English or French, you will be required to complete a LCATP test.”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr... -
After your Pathways to Teach Canada assessment reports are completed, you apply to the SPTRB for Saskatchewan teaching certification using the online application form.
- Online Application Form and Fee: $267.75 (non-refundable and non-transferrable)
Source
“Online Application Form and Fee ($267.75 non-refundable and non-transferrable).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr...
Source
“Step 3: Apply to the SPTRB for Saskatchewan Teaching Certification (ONLY AFTER your pathways to teach Canada assessment reports are completed)”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr... - Online Application Form and Fee: $267.75 (non-refundable and non-transferrable)
-
After a certification analyst reviews your application, you receive an email listing the additional documents needed to complete the assessment.
Source
“Applications will be reviewed by a Certification Analyst once these documents are received. The applicant will then receive a detailed email outlining the additional documents the certification analyst requires to complete the assessment.”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- SK Bachelor of Education Graduate Application fee: $105 (included in the total fee for the SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment Option)
Source
“The fee includes the SK Bachelor of Education Graduate Application fee ($105.00) and the SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment fee ($100.00) for a total of $215.25 (non-refundable and non-transferrable).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra... - SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment fee: $100 (included in the total fee for the SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment Option)
Source
“The fee includes the SK Bachelor of Education Graduate Application fee ($105.00) and the SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment fee ($100.00) for a total of $215.25 (non-refundable and non-transferrable).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra... - Online application and fee (SK Pre-B.Ed. Assessment Option): $215.25 (non-refundable and non-transferrable)
Source
“Online application and fee ($215.25 non-refundable and non-transferrable).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra...
Requirements
Education
Official transcripts must include practicum and 48 semester hours of specified teacher education coursework.
Source
“Official transcripts must include practicum and 48 semester hours of specified teacher education coursework.”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra...Applicants with an undergraduate degree and at least 48 semester hours of undergraduate teacher education coursework may apply for assessment for certification prior to completing their Bachelor of Education program.
Source
“Applicants with an undergraduate degree from an approved, accredited, and recognized institution and at least 48 semester hours of undergraduate teacher education coursework (must include practicum and specific courses required for certification) may apply for assessment for certification prior to completing their Bachelor of Education program.”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra...
Police check
Applicants must provide a Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Check completed by a law enforcement agency for employment purposes and valid within three months of certification.
Source
“Criminal Record Check with Vulnerable Sector Check (must be for employment purposes and valid within three months of certification).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra...
Other
Applicants must be certified in the jurisdiction where their teacher education program was completed.
Source
“Applicants must be certified in the jurisdiction where their teacher education program was completed.”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not describe how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Saskatchewan. Source
“• Canadian Trained and/or Canadian Teacher's Certificate Holder”
sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Exams
-
LCATP
Source
“Only LCATP exams are accepted by the SPTRB (we do not accept TOEFL, IELTS or any other language proficiency examination).”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Exemptions: If your first language is not English or French, and you have never completed a post-secondary degree (or certificate) entirely in English or French, you will be required to complete a LCATP test. Source
“If your first language is not English or French, and you have never completed a post-secondary degree (or certificate) entirely in English or French, you will be required to complete a LCATP test.”
sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr...
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $25.96 | $40.38 | $57.69 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.67 | $43.27 | $56.59 | — |
Teachers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Public Registry Glossary sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Annual_Registration/Public_Registry_Glossary.aspx · fetched October 10, 2026
- Saskatchewan Teacher Education Program Graduate sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/Saskatchewan_Teacher_Education_Progra... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Guide for Completing the Certification Application sptrb.ca/SPTRB/Certification/Guide_for_Completing_the_Certification... · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Teacher Education Program sptrb.ca//SPTRB/Certification/International_Teacher_Education_Progr... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a teacher in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan Professional Teachers Regulatory Board is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
LCATP.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.