At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $315
  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. Create an online account and complete the online application, uploading all required documentation.

    Source
    “Step 1 – Create an online account and complete the online application This includes uploading all required documentation”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. Submit the application and pay the applicable fees, which must be paid before the application is processed.

    • Application for registration: $291.05 (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student)
      Source
      “Application for registration (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student) | $ 277.19 | $ 13.86 | $ 291.05”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 2 – Submit application and pay applicable fees. Applications will not be processed until the non-refundable application fee is paid.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. An assigned registration coordinator reviews the application to ensure it is complete.

    Source
    “Step 3 – Document Collection An ASTTBC Registration Coordinator will be assigned to the application, and they will review the application to ensure that the application is complete.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  4. The application is reviewed by two qualified ASTTBC volunteers who recommend approval or denial to the credentials committee.

    Source
    “Step 4 – File review The application will be sent to two qualified individuals, who will review the application and provide a recommendation to the credentials committee to either approve or deny the application based on whether the application meets the minimum requirements for registration set out in the bylaws.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  5. The credentials committee reviews the application and recommendations and renders a decision, which may be conditional approval pending exams or denial.

    Source
    “Step 5 – Decision The Credentials Committee will review the application and recommendations and render a decision with respect to the application.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  6. When conditionally approved, the applicant must successfully complete the PP&E exam and any applicable certification exams.

    Source
    “Step 6 – Exams When an applicant is conditionally approved, the applicant will then be required to successfully complete the PP&E exam, and any applicable certification exams.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  7. After completing all required exams and paying annual fees, the applicant becomes a registrant on the public register.

    • Registration fee: $615.41 (pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC)
      Source
      “Registration fee is *pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 7 – Complete Registration After an applicant has successfully completed all required exams, and pays their annual fees, the applicant will become a registrant and is placed on the ASTTBC public register.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $315

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $315 100%
One-time total $315 100%

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $420
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. Complete Sections A, B, C and D of the interprovincial transfer application in full.

    • Technology Professionals Canada Transfer Fee: $105
      Source
      “Technology Professionals Canada Transfer Fee | $100.00 | $5.00 | $105.00”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Complete Sections A, B, C and D of the Interprovincial Transfer Application in full”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. Follow the instructions to submit the transfer application online.

    Source
    “Follow the instruction to submit application online”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. Transfer applicants must pass the Professional Practice & Ethics exam before completing their registration.

    Source
    “Effective March 10, 2026, transfer applicants are required to pass the ASTTBC Professional Practice & Ethics (PP&E) exam prior to completing their registration. A standard exam fee applies.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $420

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $315 75%
Other $105 25%
One-time total $420 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $315
  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. Create an online account and complete the online application, uploading all required documentation.

    Source
    “Step 1 – Create an online account and complete the online application This includes uploading all required documentation”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. Submit the application and pay the applicable fees, which must be paid before the application is processed.

    • Application for registration: $291.05 (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student)
      Source
      “Application for registration (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student) | $ 277.19 | $ 13.86 | $ 291.05”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 2 – Submit application and pay applicable fees. Applications will not be processed until the non-refundable application fee is paid.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. An assigned registration coordinator reviews the application to ensure it is complete.

    Source
    “Step 3 – Document Collection An ASTTBC Registration Coordinator will be assigned to the application, and they will review the application to ensure that the application is complete.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  4. The application is reviewed by two qualified ASTTBC volunteers who recommend approval or denial to the credentials committee.

    Source
    “Step 4 – File review The application will be sent to two qualified individuals, who will review the application and provide a recommendation to the credentials committee to either approve or deny the application based on whether the application meets the minimum requirements for registration set out in the bylaws.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  5. The credentials committee reviews the application and recommendations and renders a decision, which may be conditional approval pending exams or denial.

    Source
    “Step 5 – Decision The Credentials Committee will review the application and recommendations and render a decision with respect to the application.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  6. When conditionally approved, the applicant must successfully complete the PP&E exam, any applicable certification exams, and, for non-accredited education, the CTech Certification Exam.

    Source
    “Step 6 – Exams When an applicant is conditionally approved, the applicant will then be required to successfully complete the PP&E exam, and any applicable certification exams.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  7. After completing all required exams and paying annual fees, the applicant becomes a registrant on the public register.

    • Registration fee: $615.41 (pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC)
      Source
      “Registration fee is *pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 7 – Complete Registration After an applicant has successfully completed all required exams, and pays their annual fees, the applicant will become a registrant and is placed on the ASTTBC public register.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $315

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $315 100%
One-time total $315 100%

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Annual registration renewal late fee (after November 30 but before January 31): $100 (after November 30 but before January 31)
    Source
    “Annual registration renewal late fee (after November 30 but before January 31) | $100.00 | $0.00 | $ 100.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Annual registration renewal late fee (after January 31 but before April 1): $200 (after January 31 but before April 1)
    Source
    “Annual registration renewal late fee (after January 31 but before April 1) | $200.00 | $0.00 | $ 200.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Credentials committee reconsideration application fee: $210
    Source
    “Credentials committee reconsideration application fee | $ 200.00 | $ 10.00 | $ 210.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Application for reclassification: $203.70
    Source
    “Application for reclassification | $ 194.00 | $ 9.70 | $ 203.70”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Letter of Standing Fee: $52.50
    Source
    “Letter of Standing Fee | $50.00 | $2.50 | $52.50”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech Black Upright Seal 40 mm: $262.50
    Source
    “AScT/CTech Black Upright Seal 40 mm (1-5/8″) | $250.00 | $12.50 | $262.50”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech 2O Rubber Stamp 44 mm x 44 mm: $105
    Source
    “AScT/CTech 2O Rubber Stamp 44 mm x 44 mm (1-3/4″ x 1-3/4″) | $100.00 | $5.00 | $105.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech EOS-R40 Pre-Inked Stamp 40 mm: $131.25
    Source
    “AScT/CTech EOS-R40 Pre-Inked Stamp 40 mm (1-5/8″) | $125.00 | $6.25 | $131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech/RFPT/ROWP Digital stamp image: $63
    Source
    “AScT/CTech/RFPT/ROWP Digital stamp image | $60.00 | $3.00 | $63.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Wall Certificate: $47.25
    Source
    “Wall Certificate | $45.00 | $2.25 | $47.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Re-issue lost stamp: $105
    Source
    “Re-issue lost stamp | $100.00 | $5.00 | $105.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Requirements

Education

  • For CTech, applicants need a one-year accredited certificate in applied science or engineering technology, or an equivalent and certification exam.

    Source
    “for CTech, a one-year accredited certificate in applied science or engineering technology, or equivalent and certification exam.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Experience

  • Applicants must complete 24 months (3,600 hours) of progressive, relevant work experience, of which at least 12 months (1,800 hours) must be at the technologist and/or technician profile of practice or higher.

    Source
    “Work experience: Completion of 24 months (3,600 hours) progressive, relevant work experience of which a minimum of 12 months (1,800 hours) must be at the technologist and/or technician profile of practice or higher.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

An individual registered as a Technologist or Technician in another Canadian province may apply for transfer of their certification under the Canada Free Trade Agreement, but effective March 10, 2026 transfer applicants must pass the PP&E exam before completing registration.

Source
“An individual registered as a Technologist or Technician in another Canadian province may apply for transfer of their certification under the terms of the Canada Free Trade Agreement. To transfer your registration, please:”
asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

  1. Complete transfer application

    Source
    “Complete Sections A, B, C and D of the Interprovincial Transfer Application in full”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. Submit application online

    Source
    “Follow the instruction to submit application online”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. Pass PP&E exam

    Source
    “Effective March 10, 2026, transfer applicants are required to pass the ASTTBC Professional Practice & Ethics (PP&E) exam prior to completing their registration. A standard exam fee applies.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Exams

  • Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam

    Source
    “Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam Who: required for all ASTTBC registrations, except student applications”
    asttbc.org/applicants/exams
  • CTech: Certification Exam

    Source
    “CTech: Certification Exam ASTTBC has developed a Certified Technician certification exam for CTech registration.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/exams
  • Fundamentals of technology exam

    Source
    “If you completed a non-accredited program and there is no discipline-specific certification exam available for your discipline, you will be assigned the fundamentals of technology exam.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Certified technicians in other provinces and territories

  • Alberta Title protected
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare certified technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Land Surveyors Act free.bcpublications.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/96248_01 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Applied Science Technologists & Certified Technicians - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Fees - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Exams - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/exams · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a certified technician in British Columbia?

No. Only the title is protected in British Columbia. Registration with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC is needed to use the title Certified Technician.

Which exams are required?

Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam, CTech: Certification Exam, Fundamentals of technology exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.