Licence status by province and territory

Where certified technicians need a licence
British Columbia: Title protectedAlberta: Title protected

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Title protected
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Title protected
  • Alberta: Title protected
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario: Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec: Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Certified technician: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Title protected Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC Read the guide for British Columbia
Alberta Title protected Association of Science and Engineering Technology Professionals of Alberta Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Not confirmed yet — —
Ontario Not confirmed yet — —
Quebec Not confirmed yet — —
New Brunswick Not confirmed yet — —
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Not confirmed yet — —

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for certified technicians by province and territoryListed fees in British Columbia: $315, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Alberta: not listed.$0$100$200$300$400Listed fees in British Columbia: $315, for people trained outside CanadaBritish Columbia$315Listed fees in Alberta: not listedAlbertaNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of the route for people trained outside Canada, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for certified technicians by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesNo-fee steps
British Columbia$3154
AlbertaNot listed5

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: British Columbia and Alberta.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
British Columbia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam, CTech: Certification Exam, Fundamentals of technology exam — $315 (Trained outside Canada) — — —
Alberta Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada ASET Ethics Exam, ASET Technical Examination IELTS General Training 5 overall Not listed — — —

Moving between provinces

Certified technician: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Extra steps (1)
  • Not stated (1)
All answers as a table
Certified technician: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toBritish ColumbiaAlberta
British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, British Columbia to Alberta
AlbertaExtra steps, Alberta to British ColumbiaSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.