How to Become a Physiotherapist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as a physiotherapist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- physical therapist
Show the source
“To work as a physical therapist in British Columbia, you must be licensed with the College of Health and Care Professionals of British Columbia (CHCPBC).”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Corporation renewal fee: $120
Source
“Corporation renewal fee | $120”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Physical Therapists: 2026/2027 Renewal Fee: $875
Source
“| Physical Therapists | $875 | $610 | +43% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
- Corporation renewal fee: $120
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $995
-
Submit your documents for review by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators and complete a course about the Canadian health care system.
Source
“Credentialling: submit your documents for review by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR) and complete a course about the Canadian health care system.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy -
Pass the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination administered by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators.
Source
“Pass the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), administered by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy -
If you practiced a health profession outside Canada within the past five years, CHCPBC will initiate a criminal record check outside of Canada after you submit your application and pay the application fee.
Source
“If you have practiced a health profession outside of Canada within the past 5 years, you will also be required to obtain a Criminal Record Check – Outside of Canada.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy -
Submit a Verification Request Form so CAPR can verify your credentialling and Canadian Physiotherapy Examination status and email it to CHCPBC directly.
Source
“Submit a Verification Request Form to verify your credentialling and Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE) status through CAPR. CAPR will email it to CHCPBC directly.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy -
Complete the online application form on the Licensee Portal and select the option for applicants not licensed elsewhere in Canada who graduated from a non-recognized program.
Source
“Complete the online application form on the Licensee Portal”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $995 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Corporation renewal fee: $120
Source
“Corporation renewal fee | $120”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Physical Therapists: 2026/2027 Renewal Fee: $875
Source
“| Physical Therapists | $875 | $610 | +43% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Initial application for registration: $380 (for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“One fee of $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Reinstatement of registration: $265 (for reinstatement of registration for any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“One fee of $265 for reinstatement of registration for any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Corporation application fee: $300
Source
“Corporation application fee | $300”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Police check
If you have practiced a health profession outside of Canada within the past 5 years, you will be required to obtain a Criminal Record Check – Outside of Canada.
Source
“If you have practiced a health profession outside of Canada within the past 5 years, you will also be required to obtain a Criminal Record Check – Outside of Canada.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Insurance
You must hold professional liability insurance at all times in the amount of at least $2 million (CAD) per occurrence to ensure coverage wherever you practise as a physical therapist in BC.
Source
“you must hold professional liability insurance at all times in the amount of at least $2 million (CAD) per occurrence to ensure coverage wherever you practise as a physical therapist in BC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Other
An applicant must be proficient in English to practice physical therapy in British Columbia, and must complete an English proficiency test if English was not the language of instruction in their PT education.
Source
“An applicant must be proficient in English to practice physical therapy in British Columbia. If English was not the language of instruction in your PT education, you will be required to complete an English proficiency test.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers as a physical therapist in BC. Source
“Select “Not licensed elsewhere in Canada; Graduated from a non-recognized program” from th”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Credentialling
Review of documents for internationally educated applicants by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators, including a course about the Canadian health care system.
Source
“Credentialling: submit your documents for review by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR) and complete a course about the Canadian health care system.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Exams
-
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE)
Source
“Pass the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), administered by the Canadian Alliance for Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR).”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy -
Physiotherapy Competency Examination (written component)
Source
“Written component: The Physiotherapy Competency Examination administered by CAPR.”
chcpbc.org/2025/04/24/changes-to-physical-therapy-examination-requi... -
Alternate Clinical Evaluation (ACEBC)
Source
“Clinical component: BC’s Alternate Clinical Evaluation (ACEBC) administered by the University of BC, Department of Physical Therapy.”
chcpbc.org/2025/04/24/changes-to-physical-therapy-examination-requi... -
Jurisprudence exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Required
Supervision is required if you are applying for a Provisional Licensure with the intention of working and have not passed the CPTE. Source
“Supervision is required if you are applying for a Provisional Licensure with the intention of working and have not passed the CPTE.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $28.00 | $50.00 | $72.12 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $46.15 | $56.21 | — |
Physiotherapists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Physical Therapy | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/physical-therapy · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Changes to physical therapy examination requirement in 2026 | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/04/24/changes-to-physical-therapy-examination-requi... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a physiotherapist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title physical therapist.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), Physiotherapy Competency Examination (written component), Alternate Clinical Evaluation (ACEBC), Jurisprudence exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.