How to Become a Physiotherapist in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists to work as a physiotherapist in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Made it an offense for any unlicensed physio to practice in Saskatchewan.”
From scpt.in1touch.org/site/ourhistory, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $200 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Professional Corporation permit renewal fee: $150
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
-
Complete the online application for a provisional license.
-
Complete the Jurisprudence Questionnaire in the applicant portal after completing the application.
Source
“Complete the Jurisprudence Questionnaire under the applicant portal after completing the application”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
Submit the SCPT Supervision Agreement Form.
-
Provide proof of $5,000,000 professional liability insurance in the form of an insurance certificate.
Source
“Provide proof of $5,000,000 Professional Liability Insurance (insurance certificate required)”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
Provide a copy of your graduating degree and a copy of your registration for the Canadian Physiotherapy Competency Exam.
-
If you have been registered with another college, submit a Letter of Good Standing or have the Regulatory History Form completed.
Source
“If you have been registered with another college, submit a Letter of Good Standing from that college or most recent licensing body or have the Regulatory History Form completed”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
Provide a completed current Criminal Record Check including a Vulnerable Sector check.
Source
“Provide a completed current Criminal Record Check, including a Vulnerable Sector check.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
Pay the required initial registration, membership, and license monitoring fees.
- Initial registration and Membership fees: $625 (reduced to $312.50 after October 1, 2026)
Source
“$625 Initial registration and Membership fees ($312.50 after October 1, 2026)”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional - non-refundable initial registration fee: $100
- license monitoring fee: $100
Source
“Pay the required fees (subject to change without notice-these rates start April 1 2026):”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional - Initial registration and Membership fees: $625 (reduced to $312.50 after October 1, 2026)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $200 | 100% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Professional Corporation permit renewal fee: $150
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
-
Complete the application form, which includes a jurisprudence questionnaire, and pay the associated fees.
Source
“Application form which includes a jurisprudence questionnaire.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Provide proof of registration in all other Canadian jurisdictions in which you have been licensed, often called a Registration History form.
Source
“Proof of registration in any and all other jurisdictions in Canada in which you have been licensed. This is often called a Registration History form.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Source
“1200 practice hours of physical therapy practice anywhere in the world within the five-year period immediately preceding the date of the licence application”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Source
“Maintain and provide proof of professional liability insurance that:”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search.
Source
“Provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Successfully complete the SCPT Practice Based Assessment or another Canadian equivalent before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.
Source
“Successful completion of the SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA), or other Canadian equivalent, is required before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Professional Corporation permit renewal fee: $150
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $150
-
Have your qualifications evaluated through the CAPR credentialling services to determine if they are not substantially different from those required for licensure.
Source
“Applicants must have their qualifications evaluated to determine if their qualifications are not substantially different from those required for licensure.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Provide proof of competency in English or French, administered by CAPR, before being eligible to write the PCE-Written.
Source
“Language competency is administered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR) and must be met prior to being eligible to write the Physiotherapy Competency Exam-Written Component (PCE-Written)”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Provide proof of passing the Physiotherapy Competency Examination Written Component.
Source
“Proof of passing the Physiotherapy Competency Examination Written Component”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Complete the application form, which includes a jurisprudence questionnaire, and pay the associated fees.
Source
“Application form which includes a jurisprudence questionnaire.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Have the Supervisory Agreement completed by all necessary parties.
-
Source
“Maintain and provide proof of professional liability insurance that:”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search.
Source
“Provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply -
Successfully complete the SCPT Practice Based Assessment or another Canadian equivalent before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.
Source
“Successful completion of the SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA), or other Canadian equivalent, is required before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Professional Corporation permit renewal fee: $150
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Professional Corporation registration fee: $250
Requirements
Education
Internationally educated applicants must have their qualifications evaluated to determine if they are not substantially different from those required for licensure.
Source
“Applicants must have their qualifications evaluated to determine if their qualifications are not substantially different from those required for licensure.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapplyProvisional license applicants must have successfully completed a physical therapy education program recognized by the council and registered for the CPTE.
Source
“A provisional practicing membership in the college is available to individuals who have successfully completed a physical therapy education program that is recognized by the council and have registered for the Canadian Alliance of Physical Therapy Regulators’ Professional Competency Exam (CPTE).”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional
Police check
Applicants must provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search.
Source
“Provide a clear Criminal Record Check and Vulnerable Sector Search”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Insurance
Applicants must maintain professional liability insurance of at least $5,000,000 that is independent of employer insurance, has no deductible, and continues to apply during leave and after cessation of practice.
Source
“provides coverage in an amount not less than $5,000,000 on any one client or $5,000,000 maximum for the policy year, with no deductible;”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Other
Internationally educated applicants must demonstrate proficiency in English or French before being eligible to write the PCE-Written.
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction may qualify for a similar licence in Saskatchewan, but must successfully complete the SCPT Practice Based Assessment or a Canadian equivalent before being eligible for a full-practicing licence. Source
“Successful completion of the SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA), or other Canadian equivalent, is required before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
Exams
-
Alliance Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE)
-
Canadian Physiotherapy Competency Exam (CPTE)
Source
“Provide a copy of your registration for the Canadian Physiotherapy Competency Exam (CPTE)”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
Jurisprudence Questionnaire
Source
“Complete the Jurisprudence Questionnaire under the applicant portal after completing the application”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional -
SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA)
Source
“Successful completion of the SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA), or other Canadian equivalent, is required before being eligible for a full-practicing licence.”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
Exemptions: Applicants must demonstrate proficiency in English or French, but only English is accepted in Saskatchewan. Source
“Demonstrated proficiency in English or French (English only in Saskatchewan).”
scpt.org/site/iept
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists
Supervised practice
Required
A member holding a provisional practicing license may only practice under the direction of a member with a full practicing license approved by the council and in a physical therapy facility approved by the council. Source
“A member who holds a provisional practicing license may only practice:”
scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $37.60 | $46.00 | $53.33 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $46.15 | $56.21 | — |
Physiotherapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Our History - SCPT | Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists scpt.in1touch.org/site/ourhistory · fetched October 10, 2026
- Provisional License - SCPT | Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists scpt.in1touch.org/site/provisional · fetched October 10, 2026
- How To Apply - SCPT | Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists scpt.in1touch.org/site/howtoapply · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professional Corporations - SCPT | Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists scpt.in1touch.org/site/professionalcorporations · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Physical Therapists - SCPT | Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists scpt.org/site/iept · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a physiotherapist in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan College of Physical Therapists is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
Alliance Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE), Canadian Physiotherapy Competency Exam (CPTE), Jurisprudence Questionnaire, SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.