How to Become an Instrumentation and Control Technician in Manitoba
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Instrumentation and control technician is a compulsory trade in Manitoba. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Instrumentation and Control Technician
Show the source
“Additional Regulated Occupations in Manitoba … Manitoba Office of the Fire Commissioner (Inspection and Technical Services) … Instrumentation and Control Technician Title + Practice (Limited Electrical Work)”
From immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations/additional-occupat..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprenticeship Manitoba emails you the Apprenticeship Agreement, which you sign on paper or electronically, and your employer must also sign Part C.
Source
“Sign the Apprenticeship Agreement - Apprenticeship Manitoba sends an email to you with the Apprenticeship Agreement - you can print out the agreement and sign it, or electronically sign the agreement - your employer must also sign Part C of the agreement”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
You submit your education records, documentation of related work or educational experience, and the signed Apprenticeship Agreement to Apprenticeship Manitoba.
Source
“Provide documentation and register your Apprenticeship Agreement with Apprenticeship Manitoba Follow instructions on your Apprenticeship Agreement to submit: a copy of your education records (post-secondary transcript, or high school diploma, and/or Grade 12 transcripts, GED certificate/ Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC), or equivalent).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
You complete the on-the-job hours, technical training hours and exams required by the Act and your trade's regulation, and pay the personal contribution fees towards tuition.
- Technical Training: $425 (starting at)
Source
“Technical Training (click link for full fee breakdown) Starting at $425”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Book and materials fees: $800 (varies by program and technical training provider)
Source
“Book and materials fees vary by program and technical training provider and range from $800 to $1,500.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Book and materials fees: $1,500 (varies by program and technical training provider)
Source
“Book and materials fees vary by program and technical training provider and range from $800 to $1,500.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Source
“complete on-the-job hours, technical training hours and exams according to The Apprenticeship and Certification Act and for your specific trade regulation or by-law. - pay the personal contribution fees towards tuition and other applicable fees”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Technical Training: $425 (starting at)
-
After completing all levels and apprenticeship requirements, you must pass the certification exam with a minimum grade of 70 per cent to earn your Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“Once you’ve completed all levels and apprenticeship requirements for your program, you must pass the certification (final) exam. The minimum passing grade is 70 per cent.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete the Trades Qualification Application form and follow its instructions.
Source
“Trades Qualification Application Form Complete and follow instructions.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You submit as many employer or statutory declaration forms as needed to meet the trade's requirements for approval.
Source
“Declaration Form Submit as many declaration forms as needed in order to meet the trade’s requirements for approval.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.
Source
“Proof of Education and Training Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You include a non-refundable $200 payment made payable to Apprenticeship Manitoba to have your application assessed.
- Application fee: $200 (non-refundable)
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable). - Make cheque payable to: Apprenticeship Manitoba.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... - Application fee: $200 (non-refundable)
-
If your application is approved, you are notified by email that you may challenge the certification exam, and you write it in Manitoba.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be notified via email that you have been approved to challenge the certification exam and you are accepted as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You complete the Trades Qualification Application form and follow its instructions.
Source
“Trades Qualification Application Form Complete and follow instructions.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You submit as many employer or statutory declaration forms as needed to meet the trade's requirements for approval.
Source
“Declaration Form Submit as many declaration forms as needed in order to meet the trade’s requirements for approval.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.
Source
“Proof of Education and Training Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
You include a non-refundable $200 payment made payable to Apprenticeship Manitoba to have your application assessed.
- Application fee: $200 (non-refundable)
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable). - Make cheque payable to: Apprenticeship Manitoba.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... - Application fee: $200 (non-refundable)
-
If your application is approved, you are notified by email that you may challenge the certification exam, and you write it in Manitoba.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be notified via email that you have been approved to challenge the certification exam and you are accepted as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Level Placement Exam: $200
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - NSF Cheque Service Fee: $20
Source
“NSF Cheque Service Fee $20”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 4 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 4 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $425
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 5 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 5 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $450
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 6 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 6 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $475
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 7 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 7 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $500
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 8 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 8 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $525
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 9 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $522
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 9 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $550
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 10 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $580
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 10 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $575
Requirements
Education
Apprentices must submit a copy of their education records, such as a post-secondary transcript, high school diploma, Grade 12 transcripts, GED or CAEC, or state if they do not have Grade 12 or equivalent.
Source
“a copy of your education records (post-secondary transcript, or high school diploma, and/or Grade 12 transcripts, GED certificate/ Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC), or equivalent). NOTE: If you do not have Grade 12 or equivalent education, state this in your application.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Experience
Trade qualification applicants must have a minimum number of years and hours working in the trade and experience in at least 70 per cent of the trade's scope.
Source
“You must have: - a minimum number of years working in the trade - a minimum number of hours working in the trade - experience (skills) in at least 70 per cent scope of the trade”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Residency
You must reside in Manitoba when you apply, whether as an apprentice or as a trade qualifier challenging the certification exam.
Source
“Whether you plan to be an apprentice, or plan to challenge the certification exam as a trade qualifier, you must reside in Manitoba when you apply.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html
Other
You must provide a letter from an employer or reference who witnessed your work as proof that you meet the experience requirements.
Source
“As part of your application, you must provide a letter from an employer or reference as a form of proof that you meet the experience requirements for your trade.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that certification received elsewhere in Canada is recognized for trades requiring compulsory certification in Manitoba and that Red Seal certification is recognized for any trade, but do not state how this applies specifically to instrumentation and control technician. Source
“If you have received Red Seal certification for any trade (voluntary or compulsory certification), it will continue to be recognized in Manitoba.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier....
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Exams
-
Level Placement Exam
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“You can apply as a trade qualifier to challenge the Red Seal exam free of charge through the Military Credential Recognition Process as noted below.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier....
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $26.84 | $42.00 | $53.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $31.00 | $46.00 | $65.78 | — |
Instrumentations and control technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare instrumentation and control technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Additional Regulated Occupations in Manitoba | Manitoba Immigration immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations/additional-occupat... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/trade-qualifier.... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/manage-your-apprent... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an instrumentation and control technician in Manitoba?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Manitoba. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
Level Placement Exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.